Soft Rain in The First Life

  • Sept. 12, 2018, 5:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I woke with the workflow Tuesday morning.
Lazy morning traffic I haven’t seen in months.
I’m always up before the sun.
Open his front door, drop my boots on the mat, walk softly up the steps into warmth.
He woke suddenly, sleep heavy on his face.
Lifts the blankets, to welcome me.

He’s warm.
Something I needed after the rain.
He will help us grow and I know I can depend on that.
I wouldn’t have imagined so much sun after that storm.
We felt inseparable for the time.
There is a future here.
I am not the only one that wants or sees it.
His eyes thank me, appreciate me, ask me.
His hands invite me, reassure me, protect me.
His mouth just carries the sound.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.