"EMPTY WORDS YOU SAY" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • Sept. 9, 2018, 4:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Advice?
More of them?
Truth or lies?
Should I give a damn?

I understand
You only mean well
It’s your good intentions
They’re still swell

It’s just that
I’ve heard them all before
Same old lines
Sorry I’m bored
a broken record,
repeated many times

It’s not that I refuse
to try even harder
What’s the use?
You don’t get me better

Your words sound empty
same old, same old lines for me
I know advice is free
unless you’re a high-profile therapist

Real actions help
Give it a rest
It’s still my decision
stop calling me stubborn

Don’t take it personal
but you’re not the first
who think you can get me
out of trouble
with just the same old words
over and over and over and over…

…instead of giving what I really need…

Listen
You have talked too much
Now it’s my turn
Listen.
R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.