week 32 and an orphan in Normal entries

  • Sept. 6, 2018, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Week 32 What advice would you give your teenage self?

The practical response to this is nothing; I didn’t listen to people wiser and more in touch than I am, why the hell would I listen to me? That was one of my favorite bits about my teenage self, I sort of did things kinetically, um, with my chin. Turns out my teenage self was immortal, wasn’t counting on that.
I might give advice like ‘Don’t get married’. But my kids came from that wreck and ruin. If I told me not to get married a second time, well, that’d just be a spoiler alert. I could have said ‘Invest in Apple’. I’d be rich and friendless, assuming the long, long shot, that I didn’t say ‘Fuck you’ and spent my money on the sort of shit I spent my money on as a teenager. Depending on the chronology; comic books, dope, rent, travel, a ‘73 fast back with a 351 Cleveland, that sort of stuff. Hmmm, I’m sure3 there was a moment when my money went to all that.

The premise of this exercise is ultimately regret and what you’d do to change that. Either my memory has softened … scratch, my memory has softened. I can’t recall any regrets major enough to give myself a heads up on. I guess a specific event or two I would have rather not gone through, but Christ, if you’re going to call a shot that tricky it’s bound to fuck up … wait, no, those events would be later. No, I did good as a teenager. Hmmm, no, I was fine with my teenagedness, and I didn’t do harm. You know, got my heart broken, crashed a car or two, dropped acid under the trestle, the usual stuff. Maybe not for y’all, but around here it was pretty usual, I did most of that shit with my peers. Ok, three quarters of it.

Below is an orphan from the desktop

Whiskey in a mason jar. Not moonshine, though clever little boys and girls have marketed ‘moonshine’ in mason jars just like during one of those many prohibitions this puritanical land full of sinners has perpetrated. No, this whiskey started off in a regular bottle. To the best of my recollection I haven’t mentioned this and yet here I am on day three.

After reading a bunch of recipes and articles and taking only the common threads along with the stuff I know about stuff, I decided I was going to make me some CBD whiskey. Though it won’t be just CBD. MI is a medical state only, though recreational is on the ballot this November, so you’d kind of think they’d sell some of the high CBD strains or even the genetic hybrid CBD only versions of regular strains. Maybe even some of the 1:1 CBD to THC ratio strains. I got the closest to the latter I could find.

I did ignore one of the common threads. Every man jack (and women Jaqueline) who had a recipe or opinion online wanted me to use Rye Whiskey. I had to think about it for a few days and research. I think it’s because it’s cheap and the flavor is strong. I don’t know. I repurposed a gift and used a bottle of Gentleman Jack; Jack Daniels attempt to expand on their brand, it’s ‘Double Mellowed’. I don’t know, with the exception of another gift, Makers Mark, I mostly have single malts here. And whereas I was willing to lose ten grams of weed, I was not willing to fuck up a single malt. Not that all my bottles of single malt are more valuable and/or harder to get in the states, but the unopened ones are.

It’s pretty easy. I tried it almost two years back and fucked up in one way and succeeded in an unexpected way. It’s weird, you can buy liquor from grocery stores at 2 in the morning around here, but they don’t sell everclear (191 proof). So, 2 years ago I drop some bud into some 151 and let it sit a week. I put it in my mouth like a tincture. All the burn of 151 with the taste of dead skunk and no high. A few months later I burned off the rum and viola, RSO. Complete accident and very little because; 1) you need a lot of bud 2) I was parsimonious all around, was just trying for a tincture.

This time I decarboxylated the weed and used proportions for a tincture, maybe a bit more. Though it’s half as strong an alcohol, the stuff it’s extracting is already ready. I put in the sun for a few hours over the week because that seemed like a good idea and one of the many articles suggested it. In a day or so I’m calling it done and let you know what happened. Unlike the first experiment, if this one doesn’t work there’s no saving it.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.