Less tumors more kvetching in Normal entries

  • Aug. 25, 2018, 2:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

No brain tumor, not for me, sorry if you got one, though, you’ll be a hit at your kids show and tell especially if you’re also a clown or a fireman. Both my GF and daughter texted me in the doctor’s office. The GF hasn’t slept in, well, august, so that text was a bit confused. We got it worked out. The daughter’s text was kind of extreme, no, wait, after the visit it was extreme in the kind of over the top and sarcastic/funny way of family in talk. I almost told it ain’t-nothing-but-a-chicken-wing but that might have slipped by her. When she asked anxious questions about shit I didn’t have an answer for like “Will we all die in a fiery nuclear war?” I’d say “It ain’t nothing but a chicken wing’ and for some reason that either comforted her or scared her into silence. Heh. I’m under the opinion nothing scares her, at least not enough to stop her talking.

But, it really ain’t nothing but a chicken wing. Apparently, lots of people, many even most, have these little dried micro-hemorrhages on their brain, unless you get an MRI of your head you won’t know. They don’t do anything, possibly happened at birth, and they won’t do anything. Bit anti-climatic given that for almost six weeks no one would tell me I didn’t have a brain tumor, and here I was deciding between wigs, hats and just letting my soon-to-be-shaved freak scalp fly.

Oh, oh, oh. So, there’s another commercial in the series of love knows no boundaries, even odder than the John Cena service haircut inter-racial sign language one (John Cena could have served, but he didn’t. Unlike Trump, John Cena didn’t dodge the draft, he just didn’t enlist.). There’s like these two girls behind a stage curtain, they come out holding hands and there is applause. There’s some brief mention of disability and then the love knows no boundaries dot com thing. The thing is I have no idea which kid is supposed to be disabled. One is taller, but she also looks older which would make her taller or she has that fast aging disease like Robin Williams in that one movie that I remember because my car, a green convertible Sebring, was in the final scene when they went to graduation. The little girl, who is probably the disabled one, looks a lot like a happy, average blonde five-year-old. Maybe she’s dyslexic? Has Tourette’s? They should have given her a line then like “Shout those fucking Gods from grunt grunt arkbing!” She’s probably an actress anyhow, they could have gotten a down syndrome kid, or, you know, put the blonde girl in a wheel chair.

See, my problem here, is using fake things for a real message which is not conveyed except promises to on the website. Fuck it. I’m going to the website. Hang on. Fuck me running. I either have the name wrong or it’s just trying to get people to read Corinthians. I sort of knew that verse, I thought the website was named after it. It’s somewhere near that thing about when I was a child I thought like a child. Or maybe they’re web presence is lower on googles no-shit list than they think. It’d make a lot more sense if it were a Christian evangelism sort of website to obscure the direct meaning and make folks look it up even if it’s just to answer the what the fuck. Also explains why such vanilla examples of situations where love might be lacking. I still don’t get why john Cena has to tie in patriotism and being American with Love and what two women who either aren’t given speaking roles or are speaking sign language, one white and one black have to do with fucking anything. For all I know they are bitching about Asian drivers or men with small dicks.

In times of great strife or general cultural anxiety religions flourish. Sure, we don’t have a bubonic plague, we are pretty much out of most of the wars we started in the last two decades, and though we’re in an economic crisis (recession, depression, depends on which fake news you subscribe to) we’ve spent more time in those things since I was born than we have out of them. Americans are skittish these days, mildly pissed off, wanting to do something meaningful but not sure what and that just comes across as not knowing what to do with your hands. Misandry is a real thing and growing. Racism seems to be a huge problem again which, and I might be in the minority, is an insult to the fucking heroic civil rights battles of the sixties and seventies. Best as I can tell it has to do with cops shooting black guys. Again, something that’s been happening since I was born. It’s a lethal force issue that our cops shoot anybody. It’s a vetting process issue that American cops shoot black guys because black guys look criminal to them. Yes, I’ve never been pulled over for being white. I have, however, been pulled over and detained for matching the description. If I wasn’t white, short, blonde-ish, I wouldn’t have matched the description, on multiple occasions (seven if I had to guess). But, shit. Cop problem, not a black white problem. Most urban police forces have black male and black female cops on the streets, behind desks, in elected police positions. Betcha those that fired their weapons shot a guy or girl who had a race.

I’m not minimizing the issue, just saying it doesn’t explain the whole hotplate feeling this country seems to have. The ugly re-emergence of PC exacerbates shit, but, on an individual level, PC is as easy to shut down as Christian. When the PCV (Politically correct Vermin) or the WWJC (why would Jesus care) Christian tells you you are wrong you just mention how intolerant of a judgment that is. One kind of PCV or WWJC will pause and restate or walk away, the other will argue. The one who argues loses all credibility, the other, well, you got out of the conversation. Them ain’t what’s making folks skittish. I’d love to say it was Trump, but, 1) He’d only be making half the people skittish and 2) He’s a symptom, not the disease. Not that I’d be unhappy if he shot an innocent black guy, well, I’d be unhappy for the black guy and his family, but, it’d certainly cure the Trump symptom. I’m guessing he doesn’t know how to shoot. Whereas it’s a good line for TV “… Point and pull the trigger” it’s a bit more complicated if you mean to do harm to someone besides yourself. Though I rarely find myself in a second amendment argument, I have said “Most gun related deaths that lack criminal motive are self-inflicted accidents” I have no idea if that’s true, but unless the other party knows the real statistic, it’s hard to argue without sounding like everyone but them is incompetent or suicidal. The point of all that is, fucking second and first amendment arguments are popping up again, they always do when the country is feeling froggy.

Oh, and every supreme court nominee in the last forty years has people and press crying Roe V Wade. I’m not sure people or the press know quite how the Supreme court works. They review cases as the end of the line for the appeal process. Roe V Wade was reviewed and decided before I came to realize that girls didn’t have cooties, they had something much more fascinating and dangerous. Sorry, I’ll amend that; the having or not having of cooties became meaningless. I don’t want to offend any cooties. Sorry. Cootie Americans.

Just because I don’t have a brain tumor doesn’t mean I can’t write an entry that could be written by a brain tumor. And, just because there seems to be some kind of wild hair up our collective butt doesn’t mean … shit, something coherent that I seem to have misplaced. Fuck Trump? I don’t know, it seems reasonable. Except for the orange bits he’s not even as fun to make fun of as, say, George W or Gerald F.

The worst part of writing a rambling entry of vaguely unpopular cynicism at what’s popular is not knowing when to stop. I mean the beginning would be a good place to stop, but, since I didn’t, it’s a crap shoot as to …


Neogy Titwhistle August 26, 2018

Interesting comments. I don't know anything other than there are those that fear and those who don't. To me a fear based life would seem, tedious? I'm also amazed that people believe that light skinned males are somehow blessed by the accident of birth. Whatever. That's it. I'm bored. Nothing further.

haredawg drools Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ August 26, 2018

I've thought about that before, being afraid all the time. Seems like it would put a serious crimp in quality of life. I do have the opposite problem and that doesn't always work out well; rushing in where angels fear to tread. I'm not fearless so much as reckless. I really hate the idea of curtailing my actions for any reason I have some control over. Given the amount of "white" people in this country and that there's the top one percent and everyone else, statistically the majority of folks who weren't blessed by birth are gonna be light skinned. Just sayin'. Yes, it's a boring argument, surprised how many people are engaging in it nationaly from one side or the other. I never had cause to be embarrassed to be a liberal before, but I'm not sure I share the same values as the modern liberal.

Nash August 26, 2018

Whenever I get a haircut I always tell people it was emergency brain surgery. Gets a chuckle.

I am glad you are going to be hunky dory.

haredawg drools Nash ⋅ August 27, 2018

Well, hunky at least.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.