Resorts in Stuff

  • Aug. 24, 2018, 2:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m looking forward to the kids getting back into school. I feel like they spend too much time doing nothing during summer vacation. Maybe that’s their prerogative, considering they may never again in their lives have their whole summers free like this. But I still see them spending their days doing nothing and it makes me feel like if I was a better mother I’d be encouraging them to do something with themselves.

I wouldn’t think there would be a lot of perks with having a job doing housekeeping at a resort, but Olsen was offered something kind of awesome for her. The company owns a property in Maine that was understaffed for August and asked her if she’d go up there for the month. The cool part is that they of course gave her a room in the resort for the time she’s there. So it’s kind of like she’s working and on vacation simultaneously. I looked up the resort and it’s not a cheap place to stay, so she’s getting to experience some luxury.

Almost predictably, with Olsen having been out of town for the last three weeks, suddenly Megan has gotten more needy with me again. Last weekend she asked me if I wanted to spend the day on the beach somewhere with her and I agreed. The summer is rapidly coming to an end.

We talked for a while about which beach to go to. She was eagerly pushing for us to head out to the nude beach on Martha’s Vineyard. I wasn’t completely against the idea, but it’s not an easy place to get to. Drive to the ferry, take that over to the island, get some kind of transportation over to the other side of the island, and then walk about 20 minutes to arrive at the nude beach. Then all of that in reverse to get home. It makes for a really long day.

When I shot that down she suggested a nude beach in New Jersey. Four hour drive each way. So naturally I was against that idea as well. Then she suggested we instead hang out in a nude resort not terribly far away in Connecticut. Obviously there was a theme to her suggestions.

Fine. I’ve never been to a nudist resort and there’s something mildly weird about the whole thing, but I agreed. The weird thing is I actually really enjoyed myself. I had no idea hanging out by a pool with a bunch of naked people would be such a good time. Megan even seemed more social and friendly than I’ve ever seen her. She described me to several people as her mother-in-law, which I thought was amusing. Maybe a little premature considering she’s only been dating my daughter for a couple months.

On the drive home she asked me if I thought Olsen would think it was weird that she and I had spent the day together at such a place. I responded that so much weird stuff has happened in my life in the year that I’ve been friends with her that I don’t even know anymore.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.