Break in boots bruises,should i get college degree? in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • Aug. 23, 2018, 11:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today i wore 2 pairs of socks with my boots. I did this hoping to break the boots in before i work. I have ended up with bruising on my calves and bruises on my big toes. I wore these boots with a flower dress. The woman at Valley College said i looked like Gwen Stefani. I took that compliment and ran with it.

Talan went to Valley College hoping to get cyber security degree dragged me along. Talan is excited i told him not to get carried away with debt. He wont listen.Valley College asked me if i am interested in getting a degree in medical coding. I am delaying my answer whether i wish to persue it because i am unsure whether i want to get in any more student loan debt! I still owe $3,440 from my RBA degree i got im 2012. The price of that original degree was $6000. I tried to voice my concerns. Talan and Phillip the man interviewing me said in order to make money i must spend money! Talan and Phillip both tried to convince me. I am still doubtful!

$20,000 for medical coding degree that is counting books and tuition everything is online. I will have to get student loans. I am not happy about more debt . If i get the degree if i get a job in it I will get about $41,000 a year. If i keep up with my work i will do classes from September be done on May. I wish i knew what to do. Is it really worth the sacrifice?

I really hope Talan does well with his cyber security degree. I hope he doesnt throw up his hands and give up. Just once i need him to complete something.. Please just once be my damn hero!

We have not started working at the mine yet. They are waiting on Talan and mines background checks. I am grateful my last paycheck from Rescare came in. I will be working 3 days on 4 days off according to the people who trained us. I hope they keep this pattern in case i decide to go to school.
Anyone a medical coder? Is it worth doing or a waste of time? Advice is welcome.. Help me!


Beret August 24, 2018

First...what is an RBA degree? Where did you earn that degree and did you actually earn a degree or a diploma or certificate? Why are you not using the RBA?

Second...I would be very leary of taking on any additional student loan debt. Actually, I wouldn't recommend it. At all.

I did a quick search of Valley College, WV and found the following:

a) it is a for profit college with a 100% acceptance rate. That should tell you something, i.e., they need to make money off of students who are mostly likely taking on debt to attend. That is why the admission person is telling you need to spend money to make money. Be very careful.

b) you do not receive a "degree" for the completion of the medical coding program but more like a diploma or certificate

c) the information from the college website states that you can complete the program completely online which means you are receiving no practical experience in a medical setting

d) there is really detailed information on this college/program that can be accessed at: https://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/?q=Valley+College+-+Beckley&s=WV&id=377652

It would be worth your time to dig through some of the info provided at the above link.

Good luck.

mysterymelody Beret ⋅ August 24, 2018

I have a Regents of Bachelors of Arts in English with a minor in Psychology. I graduated from Bluefield State College they are nationally accredited. So far i havent found a job that requires a bachelors degree in my area. Most jobs around here are entry level pay is $8.75 an hour. I was debating on going back to school because medical coding is $16.75 an hour in my area. I need a good paying job.

I was told by several of my friends say medical coding is hard to get hired in around here. I am hesistant because price of degree seems to high for my liking. I think i could find cheaper if i look around.

mysterymelody Beret ⋅ August 24, 2018

I love the fact you did research. Thank you.

Deleted user August 24, 2018

If you're going to get a degree you should go to a state school even if Community College for-profit schools are bullshit

Rivercity August 24, 2018

I think you should look independently for info on how much medical coders earn and how easy it is to get a job doing that work where you live.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.