Hard Work in Everyday Musings of a Very Tired Mama

  • Aug. 22, 2018, 3:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Excuse me while I wipe my sweaty brow, pick Cheerios out of my hair and clean BooBoos walker for the millionth time because she decided that she would forego the squash.
I’ve never been one of those people who think SAHMs have it easy. Spending hours watching TV and eating bon-bons. However, even I have severely underestimated how utterly exhausting it can be. I went from a 37 hour a week desk job, to a 24/7 job where I am rarely still. No wonder I am physically and mentally exhausted.
And last week was the first week. The women in my Thursday group reminded me of that when I lamented that I felt like I got nothing done. Which really wasn’t true, I think my expectations of what I would be able to accomplish with a 10 month old underfoot were severely exaggerated. I have enjoyed catching up on Orange is the New Black (still 3 seasons behind though) during her morning nap. I never get to see more than 1 1/2 episodes so suffice it to say I will probably never get caught up until the show ends completely (the horror).
Friday was a mess. A hot mess with lumpy ass gravy. It started out well. We dropped off Babe, then I dropped off Pickle (I’m getting better at the car circle) and BooBoo and I went and got groceries. I managed to by a couple pairs of shorts and a shirt too while she just happily looked around and got a ridiculous amount of attention. Once she got up from her morning nap, I decided to make stuffed squash. I put her in her walker in the kitchen and got busy par-boiling the squash. Just as I was putting raw beef into the pan, I turn around and she has her hand in the dog’s dish and proceeds to shove a bunch of kibble (and it’s not even a high-end brand) in her mouth. I was faced with a decision…do I extract the dog food from her mouth using raw beef covered hands or do I thoroughly wash them first, knowing that she might finish her snack by the time I get to her? I sort of met in the middle–half assed wash my hands then got the kibble out. Meanwhile my beef is cooking in the pan…or it should have been. None of the burners were working and neither was the over, yet the clock and the indicator lights were on. I gave up and microwaved the beef for the filling. A little bit later I pulled the stove out from the wall and the plug was half hanging out…evidently getting some electricity but not quite enough. So I finished the squash and it turned out delicious. Ugly, but delicious.
But then.
Booboo was in her walker again and Pickle was on the couch with his head buried in my tablet. I put some mixed veggies on her tray. She ate some, then started drooling really bad, then threw up all over the place. After that, I was pretty much done. Cleaned us up, cleaned up her walker and the floor…the whole time Pickle never even looked up and it happened right in front of him.
So that ended the first week.
Pickle developed a cough that got worse over the weekend and when I picked him up from school Monday, he was a mess. The goo in his eyes was so bad that when he woke up Tuesday he couldn’t even force his eyes open. So no school for him and I took him to the doctor. Kept him home today too. Today having both of them nonstop has been tough. And I’m now sick. I have managed to get some things done and Babe is going to take a shorter day tomorrow (technically he is off on Thursdays but has been taking advantage of unlimited OT at work) which will make things a lot more manageable.
Monday BooBoo was starting to get to be on the verge of crawling. Tuesday she just started crawling and now she goes everywhere, especially all the places she isn’t supposed to be. Makes things all the more challenging. Currently searching for Baby Jails on Amazon.
Still looking for a part time job and still not having any luck. Trusting that it will happen in good time and I just keep looking and applying everywhere that I can. Problem is my parameters are so specific. Only after 7pm during the week and I don’t want to have to work more than 4 or 5 hours on the weekend. I want something that is 15-20 hours a week. I’ve applied at 3 Starbucks, Wawa, Walgreens, a couple home transcription jobs. Getting ready to apply for a night job at Home Depot. Thinking about going back to school for a medical coder certificate–there are tons of those jobs and many offer working remotely. Lots of possibilities–something will turn up.

I’m not very good at ending entries. So. Bye.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.