Second Guesses in New Beginnings

  • Aug. 19, 2018, 2:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I wonder how many people after making a significant decision, I mean a stark either/or type choice, hear echoes of the choice they didn’t make afterwards. For me, it sometimes feels like a came to a fork in the road, chose whichever path after wrestling with the decision for far longer than I should have, then I hear another traveler through the brush on the other path calling out to me. “This is awesome! This trail is so easy! The view is absolutely gorgeous-if only you had taken this choice, you could see it, too.”

I finally got the job I’ve wanted at the institution I’ve wanted to work for in the city I’ve coveted returning to for so long. I was waiting for this position to give me an offer while I was waiting for my recruiter to get me a 6 month contract position elsewhere. I told myself I would take whichever offer came first because I didn’t want to decline it for one that may not come. The contract position’s offer came in a day before this one, but when this position extended me this opportunity, I reneged on my agreement with my recruiter and my word to myself.

About that time, I received an interest alert via Match from a woman named Erica. We started corresponding via the message service. After about a week, we moved to talking on the phone. Now, we’re having phone conversations at least once a week and texting on days in between. She’s gorgeous! I mean, she’s absolutely stunning! Furthermore, she’s compatible with me in terms of religious beliefs, political values, lifestyle habits. She’s tall, sweet, smart, and an opera singer. She has this melodious voice that sounds like she’s constantly on the verge of breaking out into song. She owns her own business teaching voice, piano, and acting. Facebook, Google, and LinkedIn all match up, so I know she’s legitimate. At least, I’m 99.9% certain she’s being honest. On top of all that, she doesn’t want children. Finding everything I just mentioned in a woman who’s interested in me who also doesn’t want kids feels almost Divine.

The only problem, she lives in St. Louis. We haven’t defined what we’re doing, so I can’t say for certain that she’s definitely interested in me for something exclusive and serious, but if we were to pursue a relationship, I suspect I would ultimately have to move to St. Louis. She has a successful business there, her parents and siblings are there, and some very important long time friends live there. She has far more, and stronger, ties to St. Louis than I have to Athens.

Sigh Athens. I’ve wanted to move back here for so, so, soooo long. When I drive around town, I feel like I’m wearing wrapped up in a comforting blanket. I’m buying a gorgeous house that I could conceivably make energy independent. There’s no traffic congestion. I get shops and restaurants in town and fresh air and starry skies outside the perimeter. Not only that, if I leave, I’m leaving for good. Like I said, not that we’re an item, but if I choose Athens, I know she’ll be hurt.

This is one beast of a test. Do I choose my home and possibly miss out on the love of my life, or do I give it up and risk losing everything for a relationship that has no guarantees? When I think I could choose her, I inevitably have to run an errand and the warmth of this place just sort of washes over me. When I think I should choose the town, she and I end up talking on the phone for hours connecting of books we’ve read, things we believe, hopes for our future. How is it that fate hoists these dilemmas on us at the worst possible times? I wish life had an easy mode.


history of love August 19, 2018

You haven't met her yet right? I think you are over thinking. There is time. Also, you are assuming lots about her too which may be correct or not.
For now, just enjoy this part of life. Some people don't live together until they marry or are married but live separately. This could be a year down the line. Why think about leaving now?

Robbo history of love ⋅ August 19, 2018

Not in person. We just talk a good bit over the phone. The more we talk, the more attached we are likely to become, and the more painful it will be should we determine that neither of us is willing to relocate. I like her a lot; I'd much rather not cause her any pain at all.

Marg August 19, 2018

I agree with the above - there's no point in worrying about something which may naturally resolve itself so enjoy this breath of fresh air which has come into your life. By the time you might need to make a decision, it may be a lot simpler!
How's the job going?

Robbo Marg ⋅ August 19, 2018

So far, so good. I teach my first lecture class tomorrow. Hopefully, nothing cataclysmic happens. As for my lecture classes, I'm very familiar with the course material, so that won't be a problem. I have no experience in one of the online classes I'm teaching. My plan was to start working through the text book before class started, then I found out my mentor gave me the wrong text book! D'oh! Fortunately, it's an online class, so I don't really need to do anything beyond record grades, and I can afford to fake it for a little while, but I'd rather my students not figure out I'm just as green on this subject as themselves.

Marg Robbo ⋅ August 19, 2018

Haha no - not really what you want ideally! Will keep fingers crossed for tomorrow anyway :)

whowhatwhere August 19, 2018

You need to meet her in person before anything else.
Before I met my husband there was a guy I met online. He seems awesome. Other people knew of him, they only had good things to say, but then they only knew him online.
Anyway he came to visit me and OMG NO NO NOOOO!!! It was really really bad, and he had planned on staying in my town fir the whole weekend. The people who all encouraged this said so sorry!! It was really really bad! Did I say that yet!!? I’m getting flashbacks just typing this.

Robbo whowhatwhere ⋅ August 20, 2018

Wow! Was it just really awkward, was he using someone else's pictures for his profile, or did some obvious incompatibility reveal itself?

What are your thoughts on asking her to discuss what exactly we're doing? Even if the answer is, "let's meet in person before making a decision one way or the other," is broaching the subject in conversation appropriate?

whowhatwhere Robbo ⋅ August 20, 2018

The pictures he used were a good angle. I mean he still looked like his picture kind of. But it was more his personality. He was SO different in person.
On the other hand I did set up a friend with a guy I knew from online and they really hit it off. They have been married for years now.

I suggest talking for a bit more, and then when southwest comes out with super low rates ask her what she thinks about you visiting for a weekend. Of course stay in a hotel.
Another mistake with that guy was he was staying in my dorm suite in the common area on the couch. 😳

Robbo whowhatwhere ⋅ August 20, 2018

Good thoughts. Would it be better to suggest I visit her? If a woman I new told me she was visiting a guy she met online in a totally different city, I'd be nervous for her safety. If I visit her, she's still in a place she knows with friends and family nearby. I'd expect that would feel more secure for her.

whowhatwhere Robbo ⋅ August 21, 2018

You should for sure go there and meet in a very public place. Wait till you have been talking for 6-8ish week. Just mention it in passing and see how she takes it.

Star Maiden August 22, 2018

Yeah, don't over think it! Continue with the path you're on.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.