Wake Me Up in 2020, Okay? in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 14, 2018, 2:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So not the best picture but you get a feel for the tree and the sweet peas lately at the halfway point in my regular walk around the neighborhood.

Today the air quality is bad here so walking outside is probably not the best idea. I am staying in at lunchtime and doing a Walk at Home video and listening to podcasts. Everything out there seems gray and green and brown and hazy.

But fall is on its way. From the extra abundance of spiders to that one brown leaf on the new dogwood across the street to the return of groups of young people on the track in the afternoons.

I am tired, that would be the overwhelming tone around here lately. Even though I am sleeping well and getting (for me) moderate exercise I wake up tired, I stay tired and I am tired at the end of the day.

My guess is that it is a combination of factors but I sure as heck would like to get some answers and maybe a solution from the series of three different doctor’s appointments I start on Thursday.

Just for the record, (after filling out forms about my medical history this week), I would like to affirm that Menopause is not a medical condition.

It is many things…but one of them is not that it is a medical condition.

Most Honorable is wrapping up his sabbatical year with Kes at the house we normally rent on the Oregon Coast. That is so great that they get the opportunity to chill, be together without obligations and relax for a whole week in an environment of gorgeous natural scenery and wild bunnies.

One of their neighbors gave them a gift certificate to the expensive new restaurant that opened relatively recently a couple of blocks up the beach as a treat too. I am looking forward to hearing what they think. We have a four-day getaway planned there in October. This time I am bringing baby carrots and rabbit food.

I did finally get a massage scheduled for this coming weekend. Everything got all complicated socially for me this last weekend with Mrs. Sherlock and Kes and Most Honorable and the massage didn’t happen.

I haven’t been hiking for a few weeks either. There is the sad story of my favorite dusty years old Teva hiking sandals literally falling apart last Friday. I wore them out. And they, of course, don’t make them like that anymore. I did buy some new ones but I am quite skeptical that these will last even half as long. I took a picture of them before I said goodbye.

Tomorrow we have a meeting with Mr. Multiple Screens about all the initiatives that are all of a sudden appearing in our workspace. I am struggling a bit not to feel overwhelmed because all these things are on top of our current, you know, workflow… and the overtime I am already working.

I was fooling around with my calculator over the weekend trying to figure out how many yoga classes I would need to teach a week so that I could retire next year instead of in two years. I’d have to teach 3 classes a day. That might not seem like much but 15 classes a week is way too many. I can manage my energy, that isn’t it, it is more all the other stuff that goes into teaching that is not visible and being on the lookout for burnout.

So one of the things I am considering is going for a part time job if I can find one with benefits. It is all about quality of life at this point.

My hope is that some opportunities for a slightly divergent path from the hang in there until Summer 2020 appear.

May I be aware enough to see them clearly and go for them if I can.

And can I just say…there is something seriously wrong with a person that is an elected official in any capacity publicly calling a woman a dog under any circumstances whatsoever. And there is something seriously wrong with a country that lets him get away with it.

Yikes.


Last updated August 14, 2018


mcbee August 14, 2018

Agreed!

Lyn August 14, 2018

Amen! 👏

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.