Don't cry for me in Poetry

  • Aug. 13, 2018, 9:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Don’t cry for me
If I maintain my suffering
I can at least be proud.

You are not responsible for my happiness
You are not responsible for my happiness
You make me happy.

Don’t cry for me
You mean nothing more than kindness
but your pity makes me guilty

Let’s stargaze again
Just you me
and infinity

Don’t cry for me
I don’t need to be in love
to feel loved

I’m sorry
It’s just so easy
To think myself into nothing

Don’t cry for me
It’s not your fault
I’m programmed to suffer

I’m not allowed to be content
You see perfection
It’s all inadequacy

Don’t cry for me
I’m not worth your tears
I live for your smile

Don’t cry for me
Don’t cry for me
Let me cry, please

I’ve been writing a lot of poems about friendship lately, which is nice. Although they’re all pretty sad huh. It’s easier to write things when I’m in a dark headspace. Happiness is fleeting and it just happens. But the thoughts that get stuck in the back of my head, those will last until I can force them out.
I’m pretty messed up, I can’t have good things without a sense of “you don’t deserve that you can’t be happy” and that’s where these come from. The guilt of friendship.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.