The "F" Word in All Of The Above

  • Aug. 12, 2018, 8:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The English language has SO many diverse words available, so why do so many find it necessary to use the “F” word?

I find myself ‘liking’ fewer and fewer Facebook entries that use that expression, and I raise an eyebrow every time I see the “F” word used. Even on Prosebox, how often do we/you see an entry with “fck” or “fcking” in the first few lines?

sigh

Considered is the upbringing of the person - maybe they’ve used it all their lives, maybe it’s a term they believe is appropriate…

…and maybe it’s used for shock effect.

Other examples of the de-evolution of the English language:
- Toyota used the expression “You suk”, “No - you suk” at the end of one of their no-longer-aired ads;
- “D*rk” is used as a descriptor, when, to me, it has an entirely different meaning.
- One of the former students where I volunteer used the expression “Godjammit” with the excuse that it wasn’t swearing.

sigh

Sure - I use the expressions, but I’m very careful about whom I’m around, who my ‘audience’ might be.

I may be old-fashioned, but I won’t apologize.

sigh


Last updated August 12, 2018


Echo August 12, 2018

I drop the f-bomb A LOT, depending on whom I'm with. But never swore (mostly) until I was far in to my teens, and even then, NEVER swore at home. Still, at age 39, I almost NEVER even say "shit" or "damn" in front of my mum. It all depends on what company I'm in.
I was brought up quite well, I think :)
It's interesting...you say yourself , so many words are available, why use the f word....well...I would counter that with why use another word? From what you wrote, "drk" is also offensive to you(i am assuming the missing letter is o? Which. That word has NEVER been on my radar as "bad"...actually it's almost a term of endearment in my world.
So...basically it's a judgement call on what words are "good" and what words are "bad", depending on one's own views.
I will agree that some people might want to consider their audience a bit better, in some circumstances. But certainly not on a site like this, where the point is
self* expression!
Reminds me of a quote from an ani difranco song that goes something along the lines of "every tool is a weapon if you hold it right".
Be well.

Deleted user August 12, 2018

Why settle with an F bomb, when you could talk about how you want to jam your thumbs into their eyes, cut off their head, then F both of the fresh holes?

Maybe I missed the point. :P

mcbee August 12, 2018

The F word lost it's power when it became a part of every day conversation.

Telstar August 13, 2018

Good entry………….

I agree with all of it.

Deleted user August 14, 2018

I have used it in entries but usually when venting after a very angering day. It's not something I use normally in entries but one would have to read me on a regular basis to see that. I think judgment is an interesting thing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.