Infusion 1.0 in Thirty-Three

  • Aug. 8, 2018, 9:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

reaction

Most of you already saw this. I had my first Rituxan infusion today. I got a lot of questions about what it was for. I remember talking about it after seeing my rheumatologist so I’m not sure why there were so many questions.

But my day was as follows, copied from FB cuz I’m tired as Fuck.

Well today was fun lol. New experience. My infusion was supposed to last 6 hours, starting about 9 am.

1.5 hours into the infusion, after they upped the dose to 100 mg I had the common reaction. Extremely itchy head and hives on my face. They gave me more benadryl and solumedrol to combat the reaction and flushed my line with saline for 30 minutes.

They started back at 50 mg for 30 more minutes and then started increasing the dosage in 50mg increments every 30 minutes. I finally got to 400 mg/hr and made it through the 1000mg by 4 pm.

My next one is 2 weeks away and they said if I was able to make it through this one I should be ok next time. Fingers crossed!

I’m tired and hungry so we are gonna eat something and go home. Thank you all for your continued prayers.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.