That Should Do It in Everyday Ramblings

  • Aug. 3, 2018, 8:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A new addition to the neighborhood and I have no idea what it is but it is lovely. Like a kimono hem, the colored edge of the flowers is a sweet accent.

After a whole month with no rain, it is still not raining but it is cooler and overcast, which is a nice break.

Speaking of breaks, the tip of my second toe is healing but in the meantime having it broken has thrown off my gait just enough to affect my hip, glute and lower back on that side. This wouldn’t be an issue except that I walk everywhere.

In the heat. And then sit on hardwood floors for hours at a time.

Yesterday it was painful enough I decided to work from home in the afternoon to see if I could be more comfortable. I also took a pain pill left over from dental surgery land and then realized I was starting to get a little nauseated.

I was trying to be relatively coherent and useful as my IT person was running ideas for a process improvement requested by me (technically by my boss) and in the middle of this the original sports doctor calls and says…I am looking at your test results, you need to see a Cardiologist and also your regular primary care doctor sooner, rather than later.

So I threw up.

I was extremely grateful to be home. And I rested for the whole evening after I logged off work with my hot water bottle and a fan.

Today the whole glute, hip continuum is better and I was able to teach midday and work. But I am still tired, sore, and, well, grumpy…

I just wanted to get a program so I could go out and ride a bike with friends and family and run around the track and now I have an appointment week after next to see an Interventionist Cardiologist, in fact the head of the Cardiology department. Eek.

Why do they want me to see an Interventionist?

I don’t remember signing up for this.

My hope is that this all will be manageable soon and I can get on with, you know, my life.

We all have these cycles, the unexpected events that lead to other things that lead us to places we would rather not be.

I am able to work, I am able to teach, and read and write and enjoy many and sundry forms of entertainment. The cats are healthy and happy. There is so much to be grateful for.

I am glad all these people are concerned enough to want to try to prevent a possible stroke, (which this is all about) but the disparity of my situation and so many others bothers me.

There is a far right rally planned here near me tomorrow that is getting international attention. I will be staying away from that I assure you.

Maybe a massage would help? A massage and a news fast and time with people I enjoy and a brain full of ways to make myself a better yoga teacher and oh yeah, more of those pretty new flowers in the neighborhood.

That should do it.


Last updated August 03, 2018


woman in the moon August 03, 2018

Your flower might be a hibiscus.
So sorry about your toe and everything. Trust the cardio thing goes ok too.
I've been reading about the right wing demonstration too. I hope it's not too disturbing. Except of course crazily it is.

Zipster August 03, 2018

Oh yes, a news fast and a massage. And a bit of staying in the moment until you know what's up, lots o f kitty petting perhaps?

Lyn August 03, 2018

Lovely flower pic.

May your lifus interruptus not interupt too much.

Marg August 04, 2018

Goodness no wonder you threw up! Hope it's nothing major and they're just being cautious - sounds like you're dealing with it all very sensibly but it must have been quite a shock.

Deleted user August 04, 2018

Climate change?! We have always had Summers with nice temperatures, sunny periods alternating with soft rain. Now we have no rain for almost two months and temperatures going up to 96 and higher. In Spain and Portugal they will have 115 and higher these days. pffff! Take good care of yourself!! HUG.

mcbee August 04, 2018

That sounds a bit daunting but hopefully it's something where they can intervene and do some great preventitive medicine. That's why we live so much longer than our predecessors....medicine today is amazing and I think sometimes we don't realize it until it slaps us in the face. Keep writing and letting us know how you are.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.