"THE WALLS" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • July 25, 2018, 10:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

brick by brick
layers of cement so thick
a real concrete
typically grey, so bland
to ward off the creeps

stay away
don’t come near me
I can’t risk myself these days
even when they say
I’m bound to being lonely

fine, but you have no idea
I’ve mistaken the previous one
for a real man
he was a monster
a wicked wizard
full of nasty tricks
and an evil glee
I’ve let down my guard
so he could barge in to ruin me

no, not completely
but I’ll never be the same again
he’s done the same to many
a narcissist with severe vanity
he thought he could own me

until I know how to vanquish him
while dealing with this pain
sorry, I still can’t let you in
despite the good intentions
you simply claim

I need to find a weapon
to permanently end his game
so he’ll never return again

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.