More Lilies and Flying Fish in Everyday Ramblings

  • July 22, 2018, 6:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this shot from a local favorite front garden early yesterday on my way to yoga class; a different class for me because I skipped class on Thursday to rest my foot and baby my banged up toe.

It was a packed class, almost 30 people in a large studio but we were still pretty close together. My mat ended up right next to the teacher’s, who is a physical therapist almost my age (and weight I might add, though stronger and more flexible).

I told her about my toe, in case she noticed I wasn’t fully bearing weight on that foot and she said, oh, yeah, based on the bruising pattern I think it is fractured. But apparently all they do in these situations is tape the toe to the next one to keep it immobilized.

It is much better today, less swollen and bruised. But I still am not enthusiastic about the idea of wearing, say, sneakers. No running or gym for me. I can ride a bike in my sandals and have plans to do that next weekend.

I needed to make up the time I took off this last week for my test and so I ended up working this morning and then took a nap. Oh, sloth me.

Speaking of sloths, did anyone read The Life of Pi? A couple of years ago when I had dinner over at Mrs. Sherlock’s her husband had mentioned how much he liked the movie and that he had a copy in 3-D. I honestly didn’t know that one could watch movies at home in 3-D but he had splurged and bought the whole set-up.

He has a man cave down in their basement with a piano and books and music and this elaborate video setup.

I bought the Kindle version of the book back then with the accompanying audio version but didn’t get very far listening before I got distracted and went onto something else.

A few weeks back I started listening to it again and got further but not that far, maybe a 4th of the way in. I felt kind of guilty I didn’t finish it before yesterday. I actually listened to it on my way walking over to their house, which is an hour away. (A little longer, when one stops at the farmer’s market to get fresh blueberries as a house gift.)

This all worked out really well because I knew enough about the story to be fully engaged when we all trooped down to the cool basement to watch the movie after lunch. They saved me the “big red guest chair” (my Fitbit thought I was asleep) and Frida spent a good deal of the movie with her head in my lap.

I was a little worried about the 3-D making me a bit queasy but it was actually really cool. The zoo scenes at the beginning feature the birds flying out into the room and when the storm of leaping fish hits out on the water they were all over the place.

It was all really fun and quite moving. I had a little trouble hearing the story at the end and am looking forward to finishing the book now I know how the story goes. Afterwards we went out in the garden and talked about the symbolism and then I got a ride home.

It was all very luxurious and stimulating and well, interesting…

It is hot hot hot here but at least we are still getting cooling at night.

I am taking a little detour from all the symbolism of Life of Pi and listening to leftist podcasts and reading the new memoir called The Cost of Living: A Working Autobiography by Deborah Levy, which is a quick but thoughtful read and prepping for my classes this coming week.

So many of my students are traveling, one is in Ireland on a theater tour, one is in Montana on vacation, last week folks were camping and visiting family and performing weddings in the Midwest and…

I enjoy hearing their stories when they return. I am very lucky in so many ways and those are rich compensations for some of the challenges I wrote about in my last post.


Last updated July 22, 2018


Lyn July 22, 2018

Such a lovely day.

May a cool breeze head your way. 💨

ODSago July 22, 2018

Oh, poor toe but I appreciate the photo a lot...Life of Pi, we read that in the book club and I saw the movie...your seeing it as you did sounds interesting.

mcbee July 23, 2018

That book sounds good, I'll have to check it out. Memoirs are my favorite reading material.

Deleted user July 24, 2018

Having people in your life who have with varied experiences and new adventures sure makes your own life richer, doesn't it! You write about it well! I laughed that your FB thought you were asleep in the special chair.

I read Life of Pi and liked it.

Marg July 28, 2018

Hearing your students' tales of travel would enrich life for sure. I had no idea you could see movies in 3D at home - how cool!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.