To the Foreign and Confused in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • July 20, 2018, 10:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have many friends that think I’ve gone totally bleeding heart atheist liberal due to my feelings on Trump. And yes, the sad fact is… I know many who believe one must be “Godless” to be liberal… but in truth… the fact is I have never been brainwashed. I campaigned strongly against Obama when he first showed up as I felt “No experience” was a significant problem, not a rallying cry. The 2016 election was difficult for me as Hillary Clinton represented many things I had politically and professionally despise… but Donald Trump represented many things I seriously professionally and personally despised.

Donald Trump, in his presidency, has proved beyond the shadow of any doubt that he does not exist in the real world, has no interest at heart other than his own wealth, and cares very little for the people who support him. But that support remains voracious. While Trump’s popularity Nation-wide is poor, his standing with Republican voters remains strong. Trump, as crass as the comment was, apparently knew his followers well when he stated he could shoot someone on 5th Avenue and not lose voters. I do not wish to pigeonhole a large section of people… but when you have Trump, with known financial ties to Russian Oligarchs, doing back-flips to (a) bad mouth America; (b) lift up Russia; (c) lie and obfuscate at every turn about what he means; (d) change his story based on reaction; and then still invite Putin to the White House… if you still support him rabidly, either you’re not paying attention or you are a complete, total, and uncompromising buffoon and imbecile.

These individuals find themselves (either accidentally or intentionally) trapped in an ouroboros loop. They find liberals distasteful… unintelligent Godless hippies that disrespect American values and things like truth. So they don’t engage or listen to people that aren’t conservative. They watch Fox News as their only news source and believe that Sean Hannity is a journalist. Technically, his show is opinion and when he’s called out, he says “The American people are smart enough to know that this is an opinion show.” Then why do you call it a news program, Sean? Why does Fox News air majority opinion programs but continually call them News Programs? So… the Trump supporter gets “Fox News” which feeds “Fellow Conservatives” as they discuss things together. And a critical thought on Trump is another Godless Liberal attacking American Values. Thus… why the current party in power isn’t doing a damned thing. Because for the current Republicans? They’d rather make sure they keep their jobs than do their jobs.

Or what this article says:
Dan asked the question last night, “who will stand up?” As the hours tick by it becomes increasingly obvious from GOP members of Congress that the answer will be no one, at least no one who intends to stick around after November.

An if you’re looking for logic to these acts of courageousness, we offer two theories. First, longtime GOP strategist Mike Murphy:

“I’m furious R’s are cowardly about Trump. But here is what they say in private: 1.) Trump is a disgrace. 2.) I give fiery press conf tmmrw saying that. 3.) Nothing changes, Trump remains nuts and remains POTUS. 4.) A nut beats me in next primary. So how does my pol suicide help?”

And Dave Wasserman of Cook Political Report:

“Most Republican members are willing to admit POTUS doesn’t operate in reality, but know they’re doomed in their next primary if they say so publicly. As long as that’s true, we’re headed for a world w/ zero accountability.”

Mike Murphy
@murphymike
I’m furious R’s are cowardly about Trump. But here is what they say in private: 1.) Trump is a disgrace. 2.) I give fiery press conf tmmrw saying that. 3.) Nothing changes, Trump remains nuts and remains POTUS. 4.) A nut beats me in next primary. So how does my pol suicide help?

Dave Wasserman
Most Republican members are willing to admit POTUS doesn’t operate in reality, but know they’re doomed in their next primary if they say so publicly. As long as that’s true, we’re headed for a world w/ zero accountability.

So perhaps we can surmise that if the Finland fiasco didn’t sway Republicans to speak out, nothing will. Smart thoughts from Mike Allen at Axios:

Yes, almost every elected Republican we talk to privately thinks President Trump’s warm embrace of Vladimir Putin was unexplainable, unacceptable and un-American.

Yes, they wish they could say this publicly.
No, they won’t — not now, and probably never.
The cold, hard reason: They see no upside in speaking out — and fear political suicide if they do, numerous Republican officials tell us.

Why it matters: This is the mind-control power Trump has, thanks to 90 percent of Republicans approving of his tactics and performance.
These 90 percent empower and are empowered by Fox News and a pro-Trump social media ecosystem that always comes to the president’s defense, even if they flinch for a moment or two.
We just witnessed this power on full display:

You had a rare moment where virtually every Republican was aghast at Trump’s words.
But almost every Republican — except those leaving the stage — softened their direct criticism of Trump and ran from TV or reporters like the plague.

Will Wilkinson
@willwilkinson
It’s crazy that there’s not a single GOP senator who wants to be a beloved world-historical hero who goes down in the annals of glory famous for bravery, integrity, and defense of freedom and democracy.


Anaiss July 20, 2018

Saw you on the front page -- what a well written entry. Thank you. I am so tired of being stereotyped because I am a Democrat and because I abhor Donald Trump. We don't all fit into the same pigeon hole. I guess I'm guilty of stereotyping his supporters too, though I try not to. Many of them are very good people, some of them are family members whom I love.

Comfortably Numb July 20, 2018

"Hillary Clinton represented many things I had politically and professionally despise… but Donald Trump represented many things I seriously professionally and personally despised." <---- I think this is most people. i know it's me.

woman in the moon July 20, 2018

I'm a serious Hillary Clinton fan. I identified with her. I so wanted her to be the first woman president. I worked for her in both caucuses and then later she got the nomination. I honestly don't understand why every one didn't feel about her the way I did.
Silly me, huh?

Park Row Fallout woman in the moon ⋅ July 20, 2018

It just shows you were passionate. :) Strangely, I was like that once... just once... with McCain in 2000. I was very upset that Bush got the nom and kept saying it was because of Daddy. Of course... 8 years later when McCain DID get the Nom... he shouldn't have gotten it. I've said that the Republicans seem to nominate based on some weird rule. "McCain should have been 2000, Romney 2008... but we gave it to Little Georgey so we'll put those other two in for the next elections."

Deleted user July 20, 2018

It's interesting to see Republicans attack other Republicans who speak out against Trump. Or even simply disagree on something. If you don't give him 100% of your loyalty they go into attack mode. I know everyone complained about "drinking the koolaide" during Obama, but this is getting unreal.

Park Row Fallout Deleted user ⋅ July 24, 2018

100% agree. I was aghast and upset when everyone around me in college started saying "Obama is gonna be a savior". And while he certainly wasn't a "Savior" he was (at least) a decent politician. Now that the other side is referring to Trump as a savior? The man has no redeemable qualities. He's the oldest man every elected President, claims to be the wealthiest... and yet the impoverished blue collar think he's "one of them." Ugh.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.