Para bailar que necesito una poca de gracia in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • July 20, 2018, 8:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

First the distracting things:

This morning, I woke up. Turned off my alarms. Went into the living room, noticed it was 4 a.m. and decided to play some video games before getting into the shower. I showered, ate breakfast, and stretched with plenty of time to load my car for the weekend before leaving for work.

Then I woke up.

Wait… what?! But I thought.... what? How much of that had really happened?! Apparently, I woke up, turned off my alarms, and went back to sleep. Everything else was dream. In fact, it was 7:15 a.m. and I needed to bust my ass!!

Second Distracting thing:
I have not heard the song in a long time… but when I got out of my car at work, I immediately started singing “La Bamba”. No idea why.

As dark as it may be to say… the reason why may be due to destruction in Iowa. La Bamba was sung by Ritchie Valens who died in Iowa, along with Buddy Holly, after a concert in Clear Lake. Their chartered plane took off from Mason City and crashed shortly thereafter.

What destruction in Iowa, you may ask?

Well… I currently live in Marshalltown while I commute to my job in another county.

Drone photos of devastating impact of Marshalltown Tornado

So… yeah. Large chunks of my temporary adopted town are completely destroyed. My apartment is safe and I am safe. But as my commute takes me through the center of downtown… my drive time has now tripled. Last night, coming into town shortly after the tornado hit… was surreal. The streets were littered with trees that had been pulled up at the roots, buildings were half to mostly missing. Debris everywhere.

Best miracle? There have been zero casualties reported.


Always Laughing July 20, 2018

Glad to hear there are no casualties and you are ok

Deleted user July 20, 2018

Wow, what a weird dream. All my dreams are ridiculous.

stargazing July 21, 2018

So glad you are ok!

Purple Dawn July 21, 2018

I'm glad you're ok, it must have been a bit frightening!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.