quitting *edit* in A Day in the Life of Me

  • July 16, 2018, 2:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

D and I were talking when we went to bed (which is where I should be now, but i can’t sleep) and we decided that tomorrow I think I am going into job #2 to talk to my manager about leaving.
I am stressed all the time, I am not really enjoying it anymore, and as he is working now, I don’t REALLY need to work two jobs. I just do it because I think we are not financially stable with out it.
There are other factors as well, one, i can’t stand some of the ones I work with now… mostly a new one who, especially today, seems to like to want to throw her weight around as a new keyholder, but mostly because I never have time for anything, or anyone due to working almost always 7 days a week…
I am on a 14 day stretch right now.. my next day off isn’t until tuesday of next week..
I think I will just go in and tell her I will work out the current schedules that are posted, but after that I am done.
I have no time for me. Which I think is why I am failing so hard at trying to get back into a workout routine, I have no time for hobbies, which is why my camera is stilling in the closet collecting dust, and we have friends who think we just don’t want to hang out with them anymore because I am always working/tired/sick/working.
I need to start looking after number #1. Me.
And also my husband… I have let everything relationship wise slide because I have energy simply put.... its not that I am not wanting to, I just have no DRIVE to… so maybe cutting back will help with that.

Also, I was approached by someone I know about a possible new job prospect monday to friday, more an hour, no weekends… not in retail… I will need more info so I am not 100% I am even going to do anything yet, but if all the questions I have come back with the right answers, I may very well be looking at a new carrier path this fall.. who knows.
But for right now, I am going to start getting back to basics… but working 1 job, and looking after myself, and seeing how that goes.
Going to make things a little tighter around here, but D swears we will be ok.


Deeds done. Stressed about it all morning, paced around the apartment, finally I just left came in half hr early and went over. Some tears may have been shed.. lol
I do really like the manager there, which is probably the only reason I stayed as long as I did… told her I would work the last of the pre done schedules which is like 3 more shifts over the next 2 weeks .
But yea.. done.


Last updated July 17, 2018


Deleted user July 16, 2018

Taking care of yourself is the first step and then everything else can follow.

Canadian Lass Deleted user ⋅ July 16, 2018

that was hubby's comment to :)

Deleted user Canadian Lass ⋅ July 16, 2018

Yep, you have to make sure you are ok first. You can’t give to anyone else if you are running on empty.

Canadian Lass Deleted user ⋅ July 16, 2018

that was pretty much his argument as well, has been since he's been back to work for the last... oh.. year.. lol

Deleted user Canadian Lass ⋅ July 17, 2018

I know it’s hard to take care of yourself. That is something I learning to do but we have to take care of ourselves first before we can take care of others.

fly away butterfly July 16, 2018

Sounds like a much needed change. You can't keep up with working like that without something major breaking.
It'll be ok.

Take care

Canadian Lass fly away butterfly ⋅ July 16, 2018

Thanks :)

Bomb Shell July 20, 2018

Sounds like it's definitely the right thing to do. Looking after yourself, being healthy, making yourself happy in your life, hobbies and relationships (not just with Dirk, but with your friends too) is infinitely more important than money.

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ July 21, 2018

agreed! I am feeling a bit more confident in my decision now, though i am still gonna miss that little extra cash and the clothing discount lol.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.