Thanks Bruce... in Public

  • Feb. 7, 2014, 2:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Cross-posted from a private OD group on FB where the focus was on the good things we got from Bruce's site, and not wallowing in the anger at it ending.


I really wish Bruce could see the fond posts on this group (and manage not to see other angry posts.)

He did a good thing in creating that world we inhabited for over 15 years. He kept it running as long as he could. How many other sites blazed and faded away in that same time period? I admit that I struggled (sometimes publicly) with processing how he could just let it go down when I had already decided, in my personal and infinite wisdom, that he could sell or give it away. But you know what? I'm just a user of a site that has given me way more than I've ever given in return. I'm not entitled to apologies, full disclosure, or to anything more than adequate notice the site is going away. So now I choose to trust that he did his best to do what was right for the site and for us. And I accept that sometimes you can do everything right...and it still isn't enough.

Thanks Bruce.


Deleted user February 07, 2014

I'm with you on this. It's refreshing to read this entry.

Linda February 07, 2014

I'm grateful to him even though he frustrated the crap out if me. I would never join another site he created, so I guess that says a lot about my respect for his business acumen and trustworthiness. That said, he did a good thing. He just squandered a lot of good will.

nthaniel February 07, 2014

Applause!

Pintador February 07, 2014

Classy! Yeah, there's been a lot of Bruce bashing on the FB OD sites of late. I wish he would have defended himself somewhat in his farewell letter so that diarists could understand his decision.

Overachiever Pintador ⋅ February 07, 2014

I was guilty of it too, until I was reminded that we don't have the whole story...and quite frankly, it's not ours to have. Reading the notes over the past couple of weeks, it seems clear to me why he doesn't engage much in his reasons and such. It's a no-win situation.

Timmy™ February 07, 2014

Estrella February 07, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.