That time of the year in A New Chapter

  • July 13, 2018, 12:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So the interview went well.
Surprisingly well.
I ended up having two.
The first time I showed up I clocked into the computer as I always do. I find an e-mail saying that the woman who was supposed to interview me had car problems and would be unable to see me. I have to admit it upset me since I had driven quite a bit and modified my schedule but..whatever. I ended up talking to her over the computer a little bit, I think it made it easier doing it over the computer. It also really drove the point home that I am THE candidate for this job.

The next meeting got pushed to Tuesday.
I showed up and once again the lady was not there so I ended up being interviewed by a higher up..which was better since I have known him for some time. He basically told me that he has known me for years so he did not have much to ask me. That he knew my etiquette and my skill set and that I was qualified. However, he said we still needed to do a test since we needed to create some sort of basline for the work. I did it. He basically told me it was probably falling to me. Sounds good so far but things got weird. He told me they would be in contact with me by Thursday.
I was not contacted. I did find out they allowed someone else to try and apply at the last minute. I know the person and she said she did not end up going through with it. So I guess the decision will be delayed, realistically speaking, until next week?
We will see. I am still pretty sure I am getting it but..stuff happens at these corporate procedures.

One thing is for sure tho..as promised, I cannot stay if I don’t get this position. Not to sound self-entitled, but no one deserves it more than me. I basically know how to do the job, I can hit the ground running, I did it in the past, etc. There would be no need for me to step in and do much training. It would be the third time I get screwed and third time is the charm.

I did find out that..years ago..I applied for a role and got turned down. I didn’t find out why. I did find out that I was the number one choice but they had to give it to someone else due to seniority. It’s just how the game is I guess.

My birthday is tomorrow. I wish I could say I am excited but I am kinda not. This job thing has me stressed to level 2000. I am sure it will be ok.
Yesterday my mom and dad both texted me to check on me and see how the job thing was going. I kinda had a meltdown and went off on both of them. I didn’t curse at them or anything, I just kinda told them how big of a decision it is. How much it means to me and my health and my future to have a serious schedule change. My dad didn’t know what to say and I could tell he was kinda blindsided. My mom didn’t take it well and was sad about the whole thing. I ended up calling her to talk about it a little more because I felt bad.

She told me everything would be ok.

I hope so.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.