Food for the soul, etc. in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 12, 2018, 1:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

/423. 999,578 left. Grandson Will who was 11 yrs old yesterday did the picture above when he was last here. Often when he arrives he gets a page of the vinyl that I brought home from my old old job and the colored Pentels and goes to work. I watched him finish this one. He’s already done the main design but he had space to fill. First he made the orange circles then outlined them in black, then the purple snowflakes, then the red crosses and finished up with green vertical lines. Fascinating to see the transfer from brain to fingers to Pentel to vinyl page.

Below are the two he made Memorial Day weekend, residing on the plate rack.

alt text

His mom says he never does anything like that at home, just here when he’s bored.

/424. It’s Thursday. Someone needs to go to town to buy some groceries. We are flat out of milk and bananas and Pepsi. I am going to need peanut butter and whatever else I usually buy pretty soon. I should just get dressed and go. But Jim always has plans to go to town so I thought I’d let him get the big three - milk, bananas and Pepsi. He has to re-apply for his P & Z post.

/425. There is a ball game tonight in Lacrosse, after this game they will play on Saturday and Sunday nights only till July 28. There are only a few games into August. The players are college kids so they have to leave early. Last game we were at we were promised new players from Duke University who had been delayed due to playing in the college World Series. It will be interesting to pick them out when we go again.

/426. When we go to Lacrosse we almost always shop at the big grocery store so that is what is holding me back from local shopping. Our local store which is a really good store - even the prices I think compare tot he big city store - has just remodeled. They seem to be pretty much finished now. They have added more aisles and shelves and more stuff to sell. It was kind of rough for a while figuring out new locations for stuff you used to buy.

/427. I had two small ripe tomatoes a few days ago. I put them into this and it was quite tasty.

alt text

/428. I’m not sure I have much else to say today. The return to pictures makes me think differently. I have some others for future entries and they are in the back of my mind. So I just don’t have as many words to share. Sooooo, 999,573 to go. Have a good day everyone. I need to see if there are more - maybe bigger - tomatoes.


Just Annie July 12, 2018

Boredom is good for a kid, especially when there are art and craft supplies around. And books, too, but not all kids are readers.

NorthernSeeker July 12, 2018

I think Will has some excellent artistic ability. Good colour choices and design flair. As we've discussed before, photos help me write my entries. I especially like Will's painting with the green background. We buy groceries a bit at a time now but we aren't very far away from two grocery stories. How many miles do you have to go to get to your closest grocery store?

Here I am again! July 13, 2018

I really like your grandson's artwork. He probably needs to be there and bored more often. ;o)

Serin July 13, 2018

Will's talented, even if it's a boredom response.

We don't have any tomatoes yet. But the scorching heat should get us there if it doesn't kill the container garden entirely.

WhatDreamsMayCome July 17, 2018

I'd say your grandson has a strong creative streak.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.