In Which a Break Cannot Be Caught in Various Endearments

  • Feb. 18, 2014, 11:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have these moments where I'll browse memories, and then all of a sudden, I'll think I'm living in the days I've been thinking about. I thought it was late autumn during my senior year of high school. I needed to wake up at 4:26, I needed to be in the pool at 4:59 (I have this thing about inexact times), I hadn't called or even thought of calling Aaron, I hadn't been listening for mom to fall asleep, I hadn't started playing my casual cover-up music. And then, senior year of college, just out of the shower, Willow on the couch, Waldo curling up on my shins and probably eyeing my toes because they wiggle without my consent, Andrew Bird's "Danse Caribe" playing just quietly enough, everything blurry from the window view, multiple lamps lit because Josh passionately insists that overhead lighting is tacky and forbids it in the common areas besides the bathroom, everything looking golden and champagne-glossed. But some of the younger things have stuck. I want to listen to "Brick" the way I did every morning on the way to swim practice, the song perfect for the dark and exhaustion. April. I fucking miss April. Cats are dumb, except when they're not. Nights of Aaron and Yann Tiersen's Amelie score. Sweetness and sorrow and melodrama. And the inexplicable thought of lips.


Deleted user February 18, 2014

yann tiersen has a lot more music than amélie, though that is his best. i recommend les retrouvailles which if nothing else will introduce you to the vocals of goddess liz fraser, best known for her work with cocteau twins and later massive attack ("teardrop" in particular, which you might know as the theme to the tv show house.) sorry if you already know all this i just got an opportunity to talk about liz and lost sight of the weightier matters.

Deleted user February 18, 2014

oh i meant to mention i saw yann tiersen live once, too.

eolhsand Deleted user ⋅ February 21, 2014

That's awesome. I own a cd of his other music, but I agree, it doesn't compare. I'll have to look into Liz Fraser.

Spinster February 19, 2014

I was going to say I cant even remember a day in high school but then I remember a spring day, boys playing soccer, my best friend and me driving around in my old clunker.

eolhsand Spinster ⋅ February 21, 2014

That sounds like a magic memory, where things are grainy and the light is overexposed and there's always some laughing. I love those.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.