SATURATED COLOR in Postcards 4

  • July 10, 2018, 10:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes,
walking by the dry and hanging
laundry,
the colors knock me out with their
saturation.
Even my Hawaiian mumu’s
seem to blend in without
a fight with those other
summer colors.
I pause
and laugh,
then carry the colors in my
mind up the long
long upstairs climb
but don’t bring the clothes
with me
to hang up.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Yesterday was the heaviest workday ever, yet he managed to stay awake through a committee meeting for Next year’s Spring Round Up. Panel Committee. Today’s work is a little lighter.

  • Me, myself, and I: On the Information Committee yet kept thinking about it as if it were the Transportation Committee. Yesterday: Swim, laundry, groceries, and more laundry. Today I am framing some work and hanging others. Quilting, I hope, perhaps a nap.

  • Reading: Hillerman.

  • Gratitude’s: For being here. For being able to give back too. Best of all, that the boys and their coach are out of their cave.


Last updated July 10, 2018


Amelie's Twin July 10, 2018

I'm so relieved they got all of those boys out safely. I can only imagine the terror their families must have been going through while waiting.

I too like doing laundry though I admit I don't sort my closet by color, but by function. Work shirts here, everyday shirts here, nicer shirts here, cardigans here. Dresses, dress pants, and skirts in one of the guest room closets. Jeans and shorts folded and placed in two piles in a drawer (I never know what I'm getting myself into at work so I keep certain pairs for that and the nicer ones are placed differently). We won't talk about the lingerie or sock drawers.

woman in the moon July 10, 2018

I have a clothes silo. A big cardboard box that holds a lot but needs to be seasonally adjusted.
I cannot believe I have lived my whole life and end up so disorganized. I now have three elastic waist pants, one 'decent' shirt, and t-shirts, one too small bra and sufficient panties and socks. That is it.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ July 10, 2018

It's time to rethink your wardrobe. LOL

Hillbilly Princess July 10, 2018

NorthernSeeker July 11, 2018

Good poem. We share an appreciation of colour.

Marg July 11, 2018

I like your choice in colours especially the purple/mauve/lilacs!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.