Back to the world of pictures in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 3, 2018, 10:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

![alt text](http://https://i.imgur.com/bNpVxGg.jpg)

/395. 999,606 left. Above pic was snatched from twitter - Pádraig Belton @PadraigBelton
24h 4 hours ago Members of the Bolshoi following Russia vs Spain backstage, during a performance. From dancer Bruna Gaglianone.

/396. Another slow Tuesday. Conditions similar to 24 hours ago. I’m the same person, in the same place.

/397. Four baseball pictures from the last game we went to.


Early in the game, facing the field.

alt text
Early in the game, facing away from the field.

alt text
Later in the game, facing the field.
ak
alt text
Later in the game, facing away from the field.

And there are trains, the train yard is not far from the ball field. Trains, including Amtrak’s Empire Builder going west to the Twin Cities, pass behind the water and the trees behind the ball field.

/398. I’ve been accidentally researching the book business. Turns out you can spend $5000 and up to have your book edited, the same for a cover design and $500 for Kirkus to review it for you. I’d skimp on the cover. Of course it’s very unlikely I will write a book.

/399. I realize this is the wrong place for this discussion but it’s the best place I have to do it. I’m thinking about political contributions. Do you make them? We do and as the election gets closer there is more opportunity. There is a gathering Sunday for three candidates = one for county supervisor, one for state legislature, and one for US Congress. Suggested donation is $25. Not unreasonable, except if Jim and I both go that’s $50 and we will have to say no to a lot of phone solicitors to make up for that. After last election we added up what we gave - I forget the total = hundreds of dollars, less than a thousand. Hopefully lots less. Only one of the candidates won. Now this year is different. Worse? Better? Hard to say. I guess we will do what we think is right and not worry too much about it.

/400. I was going to write about ice cubes. Tis the season. I have two trays for making ice cubes in the freezer on top of my refrigerator. I take them both out at the same time, using what I want immediately and putting remainder in an oval ice cream container. I refill the ice cube trays and put them and the left over cubes back in the freezer. Slightly odd thing, is that the bottom tray freezes harder than the top tray and those cubes are harder to get out. So I have to put the ice cream container of cubes back in the freezer to wait for the harder frozen cubes to thaw. Then I have to get it out again to put the cubes in it. For some reason I’m irritated at the extra step in the process.

/401. I’m going to see Joana today. I just promised Jim I would as he went out the door. He’s got a jug of ice and water and he’s wearing his sun protection hat. Just heard the tractor start. I love the sound of those old IHs. Cranking up and going up the driveway. A chorus and range of sound. Getting fainter. Just now saw it go up the hill in front of the house and now it’s gone.

/402. This will do it for today. Wishes for all good things for all of us. 999, 599 left.


Last updated July 07, 2018


NorthernSeeker July 03, 2018

Are your political contributions an income tax deduction? Ours are. We tend to give $200 to candidates at the beginning of their race and then nothing from telephone solicitations. Lately I have been buying bags of ice rather than making the cubes. A bag of ice lasts us a long time because we aren't dealing with Iowa heat. Also, the cubes in the bag of ice are like dog bones with a hollow centre where the marrow would be. The extra surface area leads to quick cooling.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 03, 2018

They are tax deductible but we never itemize our deductions. The standard deduction is always more than what we would have itemizing.

NorthernSeeker July 03, 2018

Looks like the river is flooding in your away from the field shots because the bottom of the trees are underwater. Does the baseball stadium ever get flooded?

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 04, 2018

Water does look close. I suppose the park is in what would now be called flood plain where housing construction would be prohibited. A lot of Lacrosse's waterfront is now park - as well as other cities. I'm not aware that it has flooded though since we've been going to games.

Deleted user July 03, 2018

It’s a hot day here ... nope, I do not contribute since Bernie . Half or more of those politicians I believe just pocket the money . Now days I contribute to shelters and Samaritan’s Purse . Also some animal rescues. All small amounts of course but it’s a thought ..
After some of the poorly written books I have tried to read self published on Amazon , I am a firm believer in copy editing (if you are going to write and can not do it for yourself . ). If I find too many errors or the story is illogical , I can not keep my interest in a book .

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ July 03, 2018

Maybe I'd be happier if I'd donated to Bernie.

Deleted user July 03, 2018

We contribute more to faith-based or humanitarian organisations, but I admire your commitment and dedication to support your favourite politicians.
I don't think I've ever had a telephone solicitation. Is it because (a) I don't contribute to political parties (b) we don't have a landline or (c) because I don't answer the phone if I don't know the number - but those tend to be overseas scams.?

I wonder if you've been having a heat wave there like us here.

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ July 04, 2018

Our landline is full of junk. A fair amount is political, but there are a lot of insurance, credit card, and just out and out scams. I think it relates a bit to the video clip I posted in the next entry.....we are time travelers here.

It's been hot, kinda on and off. Quite wet too. They say the main climate change here is that nighttime temps are higher - there is less of a gap between daily highs and lows. Larger gaps created big storms, smaller gaps just keep us rainy - there is heavy flooding around Des Moines right now. Extra rain is not bad except we can't make hay very well. Interestingly enough we are adopting European forage/hay techniques. Jim has a class new tedder (hay fluffer) from Italy! Manual translation is a hoot. They should have had an English speaker just read the thing - not for technical accuracy but to eliminate the humor factor.

Happy summer to you and yours.

noko July 03, 2018

Love the first picture. Actually all of them are cool. I don't contribute to individual candidates. It is a thing I have. I think there is too much money in the process and that they have to spend too much time soliciting money. I do contribute to places like public radio, the ACLU, SPLC, Social Security Works and the Medicare for All group. And Doctors Without Borders is a place I contribute a fair amount to as well as local non profits. A number of podcasts I listen to are asking for $75 and that seems like a lot to me, like maybe a whole month's of donation allocation, the ask seems to be going up.

Just Annie July 03, 2018

I contribute to political campaigns. Our good senator, Sherrod Brown. Any Democrat who is running against our not-so-good senator (but there's worse) Rob Portman and the truly awful representative, Jim Jordan.

I don't make ice cubes. I buy them by the bag. How lazy is that?

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ July 04, 2018

How about state legislative candidates and those for county office? I think the caucuses politicize us more here in Iowa, but I can get involved with the people I feel I know as well. The 'down-ticket' offices affect us a lot too.

Our congressman is Rod Blum - who is famous for spending most in Congress on constituent mailings. In the 3.5 years he's been in office, we have no received one piece of mail from him. Does he have some people labeled as ones who will never vote for him? We never will, but he has an obligation to communicate with us, don't you think?

Just Annie woman in the moon ⋅ July 04, 2018

You're right, 'down-ticket' offices affect us a lot, too, and we finally have Democratic candidates running for most of these offices. Sadly, it is more often the case that Republicans run unopposed. But this year, there are Democrats to support and I will probably donate for the state-wide offices.

Beret July 04, 2018

Love the view away from the field. That is quite a view! I have never donated to a political campaign. Not sure why. It has never entered my mind to do that.

Neogy Titwhistle July 04, 2018

Mom bought an on the counter ice machine. It is used every day. $80 at walmart, I think it was.

Marg July 05, 2018

How can you be sure the money is being spent on their campaigns? Is there a way of checking?
I took my ice cube tray out of my freezer to make more room as I hardly need it but with our recent gorgeous weather I was regretting it the other day!

woman in the moon Marg ⋅ July 05, 2018

I give to people I know - local candidates. I gave money to one of my favorites to buy a tank of gas for her car when she campaigns. I'm pretty sure the money goes for legitimate campaign expenses.

woman in the moon Marg ⋅ July 05, 2018

I give to people I know - local candidates. I gave money to one of my favorites to buy a tank of gas for her car when she campaigns. I'm pretty sure the money goes for legitimate campaign expenses.

Purple Dawn July 08, 2018

I am a member of a political party and pay dues to belong. Once you have bought your membership they bombard you with telephone calls for more contributions. It becomes annoying. It is a tax deduction though.

woman in the moon Purple Dawn ⋅ July 08, 2018

We don't pay dues for belonging to a political party. Someone from England mentioned paying dues too. I'm not sure why Jim and I donate. We went today and donated cash - twenties - but are a little confused abut what we gave to who. There was a contribution tub for each of the three candidates and the local organization itself.

Serin July 08, 2018

I generally don't donate to politics. Mostly because that seems to just put me on a list to be spammed even more.

The ballerina picture makes me just so very happy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.