They're cutting me open in Everyday life

  • July 3, 2018, 2:10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m going under the knife Friday. It’s the first time I’ve had surgery. Assuming this is successful, let’s hope it’s the last.

What’s happening? I’m having my tonsils removed. Yes, tonsils. I’m a really, really bad snorer. (I guess I’m a heroic snorer. I never heard of the term before the other day.)

I went to see an ENT doctor in the winter when I was having ear problems, and he asked me if I snored. That started a process leading to the tonsillectomy. They’re also playing around with my nose to see if they can get more air in that way. I’ve had a CPAP for years, haven’t used it in forever. I always ripped it off in the middle of the night, making it useless.

The doctor has decent reviews. I probably should’ve gotten a second opinion, but didn’t. I was scheduled to have the surgery in May, then I got a 100-degree fever, and it got pushed back.

I’ve been told by everyone who’s had a tonsillectomy as an adult that the surgery sucks. My doctor at first said I only needed one week off work, but folks who had the surgery say I need two weeks. So, well, I’m taking two weeks. Also, the pain is supposed to be insane. I don’t do pain well.

Oh yeah, they’re putting me under (of course), and I’m slightly nervous about not waking up.

And they’ll put in a breathing tube. Last time I saw a breathing tube in use? When my dad was in the hospital after his first big heart attack.

If you can’t tell, I’m wicked nervous. Crossing my fingers, and all that.


Last updated July 03, 2018


Deleted user July 03, 2018

𝓣𝓻𝔂 𝓣𝓱𝓲𝓷𝓴𝓲𝓷𝓰 𝓒𝓪𝓵𝓶𝓲𝓷𝓰 𝓣𝓱𝓸𝓾𝓰𝓱𝓽𝓼 - 𝓢𝓮𝓻𝓮𝓷𝓲𝓽𝔂, 𝓟𝓮𝓪𝓬𝓮𝓯𝓾𝓵𝓷𝓮𝓼𝓼, 𝓗𝓪𝓻𝓶𝓸𝓷𝔂; 𝓥𝓲𝓼𝓾𝓪𝓵𝓲𝔃𝓮 𝓒𝓪𝓵𝓶𝓲𝓷𝓰 𝓘𝓶𝓪𝓰𝓮𝓼 - 𝓞𝓬𝓮𝓪𝓷 𝓑𝓻𝓮𝓮𝔃𝓮, 𝓖𝓮𝓷𝓽𝓵𝓮 𝓦𝓪𝓿𝓮𝓼, 𝓢𝓽𝓲𝓵𝓵 𝓦𝓪𝓽𝓮𝓻𝓼...

Newzlady July 03, 2018

Wishing you luck with the surgery. Hubby had his out as an adult and I’m sure he wasn’t out for more than a few days. It made drastic difference with snoring! I had to check and see if he was breathing he was so quiet. About 20 years later now he snores a bit but not too bad.

king of i Newzlady ⋅ July 03, 2018

Wow. Does he recover quickly? Everyone says it’s a lot worse than that.

Newzlady king of i ⋅ July 04, 2018

I dunno, and I realized that it was awhile back and he was age 30 or less, so that makes a difference, too. It’s better for you to be over-prepared than under, but I hate to see you dreading it SO much.

king of i Newzlady ⋅ July 04, 2018

SO much might be an overstatement. Certainly a bit apprehensive, though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.