Playing catch in These titles mean nothing.

  • July 2, 2018, 11:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

/389. 999,612 to go. Monday morning. Glorious day, will get hot later but is nice now. Birdsong, pretty light through green leaves, iced latte at my elbow - I’m fairly well satisfied with my world.

/390. Just to catch up a bit - the Grant presentation was outstanding. Best theatrical or history whatever I’d ever seen. I am a fan of Grant. Jim is too but I could not get him to give up farming to come - I wanted his opinion and I knew if it was good he would have enjoyed it. Peter Grady looks like Grant which helps. His costuming and props, and visuals were perfect. Grant had a very interesting life, he of course was the Union General who won the Civil War and was President. He wrote his memoirs as he was dying from throat cancer because he needed the money. His memoirs sold so well I have a copy. This presentation was written and directed by Grady - who was a farm boy from Cherry Mound, not far from where I live. I tried to track him down, he’s been in state attorney generals department, probably retired now - he graduated 7 years after me. Bio said he was in high school plays. Anyway information is very good, things I knew, things I didn’t know. A great deal of respect for the past.

/391. Catch up II - the writers group met yesterday. All four of us were there. I read my story but did not get much feedback - which was ok. I was proud of it - in a low key way because I hadn’t written any fiction hardly ever in my life. I was just glad to have started it, and completed it. It satisfied me in a way because it was different, if not good. The group has decided to put out an end of year Holiday Pot Luck publication - we are each taking a holiday - I have Thanksgiving which is my favorite holiday if I have to have one. It’s nothing great but it’s something - you know? Story of my life.

/392. Catch up III - Jim and I went to McGregor - went up on Pike’s Peak and walked around a bit. The park and the views were more beautiful than ever. It’s so well taken care of and naturally lovely. Lots of dragon flies and sumac coming into bloom. We found a new trail to the south to a set of Deer Mounds. The trail is very close to the edge - looking down through the trees to the river.
Then we stopped at the book store and I bought books - as LBH will be glad to hear. Truman’s writings ‘The Buck Stops Here’ ‘Sabbath’s Theater’, a Philip Roth novel, ‘A Handful of Dust’, an Evelyn Waugh novel
a compilation of Dashiell Hammett’s novels
a book on Eleanor of Aquitaine and the four kings in her life by Amy Kelly.
Total $55.
I didn’t buy a little tea set made by Hall Pottery, pretty and interesting. It was $20. Next time.
Another next time - woman at book store after hearing me rave about Grady/Grant said she would try to get him for their Historical Society fall fund raiser. Another change for Jim to see him maybe.
Then after watching a big Canadian Pacific train of grain cars start from a stop and grind its way up the hill to Monona, we went across the river and ate at Fort Mulligans. Not Fayze’s, but not bad.

/393. In appliance news, my toaster is only toasting on one side. I have to toast twice, reversing sides to get a full toasting experience. Mr. Coffee is still going pretty well. I accidentally made an error in making coffee today and it forgave me. I am attached to Mr. Coffee. Sometimes I think Joe DiMaggio’s contribution to coffee might rival his baseball records.

/394. This might be it. I took some pictures that turned out not to bad. I might be them loaded to imagur and put them here. I might not. I have lost interest in taking and fooling around with pictures. I ‘m sorry. I regret it. But that’s the way it is. Please feel free to chew me out about lack of pictures of anything else you’d like to bring to my attention. Be good to each other and to yourselves. Pet the dog. Have some pizza. Enjoy the world around you. Only 999,607 to go.

alt text


Last updated July 02, 2018


Deleted user July 02, 2018

I would love to see that Grant presentation. He was a fascinating man .

NorthernSeeker July 02, 2018

I love that kind of live theatre. Thanksgiving is my favourite holiday because it isn't as emotionally charged as the others. Canada Day and BC Day are good ones too. Oh...I always celebrate Labour Day with pride. Good for you for finishing a short story. I thought you would be a natural writer of short stories probably because you read them so often and comment on them here. Sounds like a good haul at the book store. Eleanor of Aquitaine kicked butt. Our toaster is busy going down the tubes as well.

Here I am again! July 02, 2018

What are you counting?! (What are the numbers about?)
I didn't know you live near Pikes Peak. Or are you on vacation?!
I think you must be on vacation, because I think Pikes Peak is in Colorado, but I'm not betting money on it!!
I can't figure out how to post pictures here. What the heck is a "hyperlink"??

woman in the moon Here I am again! ⋅ July 02, 2018

I'm going for a million and one because I have a million and one things to say. To be honest I doubt I'll make it. I haven't figured out if it would take till I'm 150 or even longer, but it kind of helps me get started. It allows me to separate items and write about BIG ones and little ones.

It's joke but I'm kind of having fun with it myself.

Iowa has its own Pikes Peak - state park in McGregor on a bluff overlooking the Mississippi. ,The same Zebulon Pike who named Colorado's Pikes Peak named this one too. He was looking for high ground for forts. And I believe we came first. It's free so there is no one in a both collecting money when you come in. http://www.iowadnr.gov/Places-to-Go/State-Parks/Iowa-State-Parks/ParkDetails/ParkID/610141

woman in the moon July 02, 2018

In IMGUR, after you get your pics uploaded, the hyperlink is the second one down on the list - looks like https://i.imgur.com/pWsEwcn.jpg
it's the address of the image/picture on the web. You put your cursor where you want pic to go in your entry and then you click the pic icon on the right of the screen and then copy the hyperlink https://i.imgur.com/pWsEwcn.jpg into the window and hit enter and your pic should be there.

ODSago July 02, 2018

I like the mood set in that photo. Very much. It used to be that all people I knew had to turn over the bread to toast on two sides...those little triangular toasters were like that. Remember? My grandmother had one.

Just Annie July 02, 2018

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.

My mother and my sister, Julie, collected Hall Pottery. I brought home my mother's "morning glory" mixing bowls and the genie lamp tea pot of the same pattern. That's all. The girls and I use the mixing bowls. My sister's collection was more extensive, she was a true collector, and she's probably rolling over her grave because I have the nerve to use it.

thesunnyabyss July 03, 2018

sounds like things are good, love the photo, it just says early summer to me, so richly green,

have a good day!

Beret July 04, 2018

That's a beautiful picture! Grant had some association with Galena, IL. One of my favorite places to stop when I am able on my trips to the great state of IA.

Marg July 05, 2018

See you changed your mind about posting a picture!

Serin July 07, 2018

toasting a side at a time seems like a very patience testing toasting technique. I suppose I could make it work If I had to. Then again, if the second side has cooled a little while the first side toasts, maybe the peanut butter doesn't get as melty.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ July 07, 2018

Right. Your toast has a warm side and a look side. It's not a bug, it's a feature.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.