Much Excite in 2014

  • Feb. 6, 2014, 4:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's nice to be back. This isn't OD, but it may as well be in a sense. The habits are the same. Read up on entries, note, write my own, usually after a few days of procrastinating. I've rarely been a person to quickly jot down my thoughts. I prefer to set aside some time and catch up on everything when I don't have to get to bed directly or anything like that.

Working out had been going pretty well this week, until today. I was up at some point, but went for the snooze timer on my phone and apparently didn't save it or something. I woke up a half an hour after I should have been at the gym. Sorry workout partner. It may have been for the best, my throat has been sore and I'm almost always shorting myself on sleep. Needless to say I went back to counting sheep.

It's my Sunday, and I've basically just been at home this weekend, save for hanging out with friends/co-workers after the monthly meeting at work yesterday. It wasn't as soul-crushing as usual, and a waste of time as always. We went nuts and each got a few Magic booster packs, but we got some pretty good pulls. Opening a pack of cards is almost like gambling in a way. Sure, it's controlled, you pay X dollars per pack or per however many amounts of packs, but you're always hoping you get something valuable. I've never been into gambling, I think I maybe spent five dollars when I went to Las Vegas in 2010. Anyway I buy far more packs when I'm around those guys, but it's fun. Even when I think I'm blowing money and I should worry, I always have enough to cover my bills. It's not that hard, so I have little sympathy if someone overspent and has to have their phone turned off for a week or something. Don't smoke, or smoke very little, don't drink, or drink very little, don't eat expensive food, and pay your bills as soon as you get paid. Easy! At least for me.

Anyway, it's a lazy weekend. They are increasingly common but for much of last year were rare. It's usually go, go, go for me. There's always something going on or some woman I'm half-trying to pursue. It is nice to relax. I have a pretty good set of raccoon eyes going on right now, undoubtedly from staying up late and only getting a couple hours of sleep before heading off to work. I've done that a few times in the last few months. Some of it is surely willpower. I don't know how I manage it each time, but I do, and if I can, so can someone else. I've been blown off too many times to count by dates, co-workers, friends, whatever. If I say I'll be somewhere, 95% of the time I will be there, even if I'm late, even if I'll be miserable the next day from it. I think it's only fair.

I think the hospital finally stopped calling, haha. I couldn't make myself check the voicemails or call them back, that must mean I don't want it. I'm decent at phlebotomy but I definitely dislike doing it. I do like money, and I don't get enough of it where I'm at, but I do have a certain level of freedom. Although my eyes are always open for the right opportunity.

I went to a Super Bowl party thrown by some friends I hadn't seen in a couple years. There were only five of us, but it was fun. Terrible game though. I've never understood the passion sports fans display. If they'd put a tenth of that passion into their own lives, they'd be doing much better for themselves. When someone says "we", like "we're going to beat them on Sunday", it sounds delusional. You're not on the team, why do you say that? Pride is great, but having pride in something that you have no control over seems wasted. I just can't relate is all. The only team I root for is the one-person team that I'm on.

I'm a fake anime fan. In theory I like it, but I pretty much never watch it unless someone else gets me to. Naturally, that's the only reason I was watching Welcome to the NHK with one of the roomies last night. It's about a guy who develops a social phobia and stops going outside, dropping out of college and avoiding all contact. At the time he supposedly hasn't been outside in three years. Though it's not real life, so he somehow has money and food, haha. Within the first episode he's already interacting with other people, and then it gets pretty ridiculous, but I like the concept. There's something about isolation that interests me. In some way I think I can relate. I'm extremely social, but emotionally I often feel isolated. Most of the time it's self-enabled. It's certainly a contradiction regardless. I think most people would go crazy if they were cut off from other people completely for a year, but I think I would do fine. Sometimes I'm better on my own, as far as esteem and whatnot. I'd certainly be distracted less, maybe I'd finally learn how to play bass.

Well, I should get out of the house. I'm growing my hair out, as I've always wanted to do that, and it needs a little bit of a trim. There's so much hair on the back of my head and it's driving me nuts. Usually it gets to maybe my nose and I get annoyed or have to find a job and it get lopped off. I think It's been growing for five or six months at this point. Even if it looks crappy, I'm going to keep going until it gets to my shoulders. Then if I don't like it, I can get rid of it and never go back. I feel it's important. If I want it, then I should do it regardless of what other people think. Since I'm not seriously looking for a new job at the moment, the stupid stigma against guys with long hair doesn't affect me. It's also a good test of willpower, since there's not much I can do with it right now and it gets in my eyes a lot. Which my contacts don't like very much, haha.

Well nevermind. The roommates just got home and they had a super shitty day at work. I'll probably play video games with them then, haha.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.