A Day to Myself! in A New Beginning

  • June 24, 2018, 1:56 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In my last entry I think I told you how Joe’s been off from work for two months and is going back to work tomorrow. Today he’s away pertneer all day to one of his coven’s events. I think that my shopping excursion to The Walmart this morning was THE FIRST shopping trip (other than just “stopping to pick up some stuff”) in almost FOREVER. Gosh it felt good!! I meandered at MY leisure! I looked only at stuff I was interested in! The only down side was that I then had to haul all the bags in when I got home, but I think it was a good trade-off! !
I got some things OTHER THAN groceries that I’ve been hankering for but just not felt like taking the time to actually shop for....a new shower curtain and a new tablecloth. I also bought Joe some new work shorts and teeshirts because when he and I shopped for them together last week, it was nearly impossible to find any in his size. He is a large man. No, make that, “He is a LARGE man”....and LARGE men need clothes too, dammit! They just can’t go around wearing feedsacks! I was happy to find him three pairs of shorts and three teeshirts. That helps ME, too, since I do the laundry!! And it sucks when someone has such few clothes that it’s a struggle to keep them washed up and ready to be put on!
I just took a break in my writing to take Guinness for a walk. That is something good that came from Joe’s being laid-up for awhile. When our son Joey first brought us Guinness, as a ten-month-old Lab, I walked Guinness more than anyone. But after he was a year old, I got my finger broken walking him. Labs are big strong dogs, and at one hundred pounds Guinness is bigger and stronger than most Labs. One day he took a notion to run after something, and I was determined to keep hold of him. I had the leash wrapped around my left hand, and as he ran, I fell down, got dragged along, and finally the leash came off over my hand, breaking my next-to-the-pinky finger. BOY DID THAT HURT LIKE HELL!! I ended up missing a month of work and having to deal with the troublesome broken finger all summer. It seemed like every little bit of work I tried to do caused it to become infected! I had a metal pin sticking out of the side of the finger and another pin sticking out of the back of my hand, I guess because I’d had to have a bone graft. I went to physical therapy, but the finger never did get very bendable. So ever since, I have had to be a one-finger typist because I really don’t know how a person could type using every finger BUT one!
Anyway....thank God/dess it was on my left hand, and I am right-handed. But I stopped walking Guinness because he’s too strong and I didn’t care to have any more broken fingers! Joe has done great with walking him, and most of the time I go along.
I knew that for awhile after Joe’s surgery, I would have to start walking Guinness again though. He is much better now, at age seven, than he was as a youngster! So I enjoy walking him, even though now I’m back to only doing it when Joe’s not here. He has gotten away from me twice, though!! I just didn’t bother trying to hold on! Both times he was chasing the neighbor’s cats who come over here. STAY AWAY, CATS! Cats, and people walking by on the road are the only things he gets really excited about nowadays. Progress has been made!
When I stopped writing here last fall, my two sisters weren’t getting along and for them that means, they weren’t seeing or speaking to each other AT ALL. Guess what though?? :o) !! They are back together again!! And that makes me so happy and so thankful! I invited them both over at Christmastime, and that got them started. But it was reeeeeally when Carol had to spend eight days in the hospital in January that did it. Sandy didn’t go visit her at the hospital but she called her every day. Carol was very sick, with a bowel obstruction, but no surgery was needed. Needless to say, she was extremely tired of being in the hospital long before she got to go home! But when they say they’re not letting you go home until you start pooping, they really mean it!!
There! I was so tickled to hear from a lot of my friends on my last night’s entry! I’m gonna post this now and go take a shower. We live out in the country in muggy Delaware, and anytime we walk Guinness around our place I come home feeling like I probably have ticks somewhere! :oO !! I don’t know why we humans can’t take the same kind of flea/tick medicine we give to our dogs!


Last updated June 24, 2018


GypsyWynd June 24, 2018

I have a 30 lb cocker spaniel and I can barely walk her cause she pulls so hard. I'm mobility challenged as it is, and I'm terrified she'd pull me down (I wouldn't be able to get up, either). I know I should train her to walk on a leash, but I can't control her, and if I can't control her, I can't train her. But I can't control her unless I train her. Catch-22.

Here I am again! GypsyWynd ⋅ June 24, 2018

I wish Guinness just WAS trained to not chase after things, but on the other hand, I like him being allowed to trot ahead, or linger behind because he's busy smelling things. I just want him to be able to be a dog! And no one here really has the time and energy to take him to doggy lessons anyway. So it's just fine as it is.....usually! ;o)

thesunnyabyss June 24, 2018

I remember when you broke your finger walking Guinness, I am so glad to hear he is much better on a lead now, Titan never stopped pulling, I think out here he would have been long gone chasing one of our rabbits we have here,

good to hear Joe is well enough to go back to work,

enjoy your solitude tomorrow!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.