SHIT (Clearly this entry will use bad language) in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • June 22, 2018, 4:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Shit. Shit shit shit shit shit. Shit.

So… I was requested to make a decision about SMALL County because the Board of Supervisors had approved my potential hire. So I told them yes.
However… LARGER County is my first choice. In every way imaginable. In every way imaginable. But… better to accept a job being offered than not reject a job and hope that the next opportunity is a yes. There’s an old saying about birds in hands instead of bushes.

LARGER County just called. To offer me the position. The job I really wanted. The place I really wanted.

But I had to tell them that I had accepted a position somewhere else. But wanted to accept their offer. Which… they kind of recoiled at. They said they needed to discuss the offer considering the new information and would call me back. Only to call me back and rescind the job offer.

alt text

So… by trying to be prudent… by trying to say “Having a job is better than hoping for a job”… I lost out on the job I really wanted!

But at the same time… from a cosmic perspective… this is TRICKY of my Lord, lol. I was pretty much saying “SMALL would kill my marriage, so if God wants me to stay in the game, I’ll get QUE.” Well… I got Que. But I got in my own way. So “I got Que” but I don’t get to KEEP
Que! Tricky!

At the same time, though… Wife is actually happier about this. Because this means (1) We’re living closer to family and friends. (2) I’ll be buying a house within the next 12 months. AND I suppose that’s good… Garrett County has the kind of real estate pricing that would make people jealous. A 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom, 3,308 Square Feet house, next to a playground, with full hardwoord floor flooring model all for $412,000. So there’s that. Just… a bit heartbroken about how this all went down.

Though… it does send me to a bit of a Harvey Two Face place. What was the “right” thing to do? Take the Garrett Job, and get screwed like this? OR not take the Garrett Job and then not get the Que job possibly? Or as Harvey Dent once said it: “It’s like they flipped a coin. Heads he wins, tails I lose.” (The Long Halloween).

alt text


Amaryllis June 22, 2018

Why did not just say 'yes' and rescind your acceptance at the other place?

How frustrating! I'm so sorry!

Always Laughing June 22, 2018

Sorry it worked out how it did, but hopefully it was for the best.

Deleted user June 22, 2018

You never want to let companies know they are not the only one you're looking at. It's like a jealous relationship. I learned it the hard way too.

Deleted user June 22, 2018

But congrats on the new job. Sounds like good things will come of it!

Deleted user June 22, 2018

There was no RIGHT decision.
If you want the other job, fight for it. Go in tomorrow bright and early and make them change their mind.
Do or do. Nothing else.

Deleted user June 22, 2018

You should not have mentioned the other job at all :-(

Foofah June 23, 2018

I know this isn't at all related to your entry, but I was cleaning out my bookshelf and saw a couple of books I wanted to recommend; The Love Dare by Alex and Stephen Kendrick & The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman.

The Love Dare helped to rekindle and realign my relationship when we hit a bad spot in 2012. We were gifted the 5 Love Languages as a wedding gift and I absolutely love it.

four leaf clover Foofah ⋅ June 27, 2018

Those two books saved my marriage last year and I always recommend them as well!

Nash June 23, 2018

What kind of place would do that? If you are looking for work obviously you have to cast a lot of nets and you cannot afford to turn down job offers. That does not make any sense.

Purple Dawn June 23, 2018

Take the one you want.. we get one life. If you have to quit the job you first got just do it! :)

four leaf clover June 27, 2018

Oh dear. Yay for getting to job offers! I guess I would have accepted the one I really wanted as well and told the other one jk never mind.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.