IRL Grinding in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • June 12, 2018, 7:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay… I know I’m a snob… it isn’t the first time I’ve said that. I grew up in places with populations over 100,000 people. With that in mind? Fuck rural communities! I have never had more trouble trying to get a place to live. Honestly.

When we were looking for a place to live in Omaha? We toured a dozen different apartment complexes before deciding on one. All of them had availability. When we were looking for a place to live in West Des Moines? We toured half a dozen apartment complexes before deciding on one. All of them had availability. When we were looking in Tiny Town? There wasn’t much available. Enter the Rural Community issue. Now that I’m looking in Iowa Falls, Eldora, and Marshalltown? Fucked. Eldora: No rentals… no apartments, no rental houses. Iowa Falls: 1 apartment smaller than my college dorm. That’s it. Eldora: Literally nothing. Marshalltown: Nothing available! Seriously? I mean… I understand that rural areas are dying and that people are fleeing those areas… but seriously? How is it so bloody impossible to find a sodding place to live?!
alt text
Strangely… as gross as it sometimes can be… the movie “Grimsby” released in the United States as “The Brothers Grimsby” is actually uplifting in its self-awareness. Now… I’m a suburban white American… so my take on “Hooligan Northerners of Poor Means” is hollow to the point of having no meaning. And as I read British reviews, I came to understand that there was significant upset at the lack of nuance and total “over the top tired stereotype” of the character (as, frankly, all Cohen original characters are). Frankly, they’re correct. The film is, in many ways, an example of “punching down.” Wealthy individuals who wrote, starred, and directed the film mocking the impoverished under-educated and misunderstood.

I enjoyed the silliness of the movie and I enjoyed the ending message that basically said, “People call us scum, but scum is hard to wash away. We’re the people that build the hospitals the rich are trying to shut down. We’re the people that die in the wars the powerful start.” Like… it did remind me that it is easy to “look down” on the people that spend all of their time smoking, drinking, worshiping sport, and voting for idiots… but instead of looking down on them, we need to understand them.

A good review of the movie that puts the whole concept into a larger perspective can be found here: https://www.theguardian.com/film/2016/mar/17/punching-down-sacha-baron-cohen-and-working-class-cinema
alt text
I have to admit… I”m staving off complete panic here. Part of that panic? “Signs”… not the movie but the concept of omens. If it is so (fucking) impossible to find a place to live.... maybe I shouldn’t have accepted the offer. Maybe I should have rejected the offer and put all of my hopes and desires into Que or Web? Yeah, I know that isn’t exactly rational… the rational choice is accept the job because JOB is better than NO JOB in this case but… seriously bordering on panic considering that… I do not want to have a 60-90 minute commute. If I’m going to have to spend 2 to 3 hours in the car every day then it isn’t worth it.
alt text
I’ve asked Wife for help but… not holding out hope, of course. Her initial response was, “If there’s nothing to rent, do you want to just buy a house?” Uhm. Yeah. That seems like a really stupid and shitty way of deciding to buy a house. “I can’t find somewhere to live, lets set up shop solo in a mortgage.” Seems like a really bad idea.

Of course… I’d love to talk to my Dad about this and get his help… this is his kind of thing… but he’s in Canada for the week. So… as long as we don’t actually declare war on them (fucking idiot president), I won’t see him until Father’s Day. Meanwhile, after I told wife that I’m “borderline panicking about where to live” and she casually suggests I buy a house… she then monologues about her job for 25 minutes. I should probably care but… I’m sorry. I expressed that I am going through a genuine emotional issue that impacts my future uniquely. But you’re right… your day of at work is important for me to listen to as well. Just… gah. I need some emotional support (followed by a magical solution!) lol. Though… I DO have to give her credit. She actually initiated a single, tight lipped kiss on the lips after hearing that I was panicked. No “I love you” yet or anything… but something that might be loosely identified as progress?
alt text


Amelie's Twin June 12, 2018

I was actually thinking along the same lines as your wife. It might be worthwhile to buy a house instead of trying to rent. Even if it's a tiny little house, it will be yours. You'll be paying off your own mortgage, not someone else's. And since your credit is good, it's likely that your monthly mortgage payment (and utilities and all that jazz) will actually be LESS than renting, especially if you can put a decent chunk as a down payment. If you switch jobs and move out of the area, either sell it or rent it out.

stargazing June 12, 2018

Have you looked at renting a house? I'm finding several places when I google, but of course I know from previous experience they are slow at removing listings for places that have already been rented.

Deleted user June 12, 2018

I think you will find something and its not time to panic yet . Also commuting is not that big of a deal . I would do it .

Deleted user June 12, 2018

And Rural communities can be extremely nice compared to cities. The traffic in cities can be awful and the crime rates are staggering.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.