Tarps and Sandals and Contentment in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 11, 2018, 3:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the wallpaper in the hallway of the hotel I stayed in last Tuesday night in Seattle. I love the pattern and it goes well with all the dark wood. I cannot believe it has been almost a week! Miss E. is in Ireland and I am back to the constraints of my working life.

They are going to move the two of us, I think just to the office next door. They are pulling more people in from telecommuting but so far that is just folks that are classed more senior than us. (Never mind the fact that I am totally working out of class; that is another story for another day.)

We are in the busiest cycle of the year but so far because of incremental improvements that I keep hammering away at it isn’t too bad right now. I did feel the two days away though. When you don’t have a backup the work, it does not get done.

I am trying really hard not to let the news and the crazy behavior of, you know, that guy that sucks all the air out of the country get to me but it is a challenge.

Yesterday I spent most of the day on my bed with a pile of cats, anatomy books and my laptop. It felt very luxurious to do that. I had gone out earlier in the drizzle to the bank and the grocery.

The biomechanics of the whole hip pelvis area are so complicated but as the guy in one of my books exhorted us, paying attention to the iliopsoas muscle group is important because it connects to 9 different joints.

Not to worry, I won’t spin off into any deeper explanations.

Besides right now there is a very persistent cat that is trying to charm me into feeding him wet food an hour early.

“Dear Sugars” had a podcast on Saturday about body positivity and the agony (mostly) women go through thinking they need to be thin. It was recorded here in Portland and the women they had in as experts are here in Portland. So I reached out to a mental health nurse that works with them to see if she would consider doing a few phone counseling sessions on body image perception with me.

I am finally starting to settle into and adjust to this idea of Intuitive Eating. My guess is though that it is going to take another year or so for me to fully experience eating based on how I feel and what my body is telling me it needs. But I am learning.

It is a big change from Weight Watchers. I am glad I did Weight Watchers and I am super glad I lost the weight I didn’t think I could lose but for a combination of reasons it just plain stooped working for me.

So other than my job, which is better than it was say three years ago, much better, but still a major drag, the only issue that is troubling me personally right now (besides the fact that all those I love including myself are getting older) is how I feel about my sturdy healthy body.

There are many many things troubling me about this world we all share.

I want to write more, and spend more time with friends and family and do all those things those of you who are retired are doing but generally I am content.

My Imperfect box comes tonight! It is always so exciting. This week I have greens as well as apples, avocados, potatoes (regular and sweet), dates, carrots and pears. They didn’t have any berries this week as the blueberries are late on account of the weather,

Most Honorable is having a small surgical procedure done on his nose tomorrow up here (in glare filled UVB land) and so if you are so inclined send easy piece of cake vibes his way in the morning. When it is your face…it is hard…

I blame climate change. Emphasis on the word change. We are all experiencing it with the wonky weather patterns.

One good thing about the warming trend for now…I get to wear sandals more often as you all down in the southern hemisphere are bundling up and trying to remember where you last saw the tarps.


Last updated June 12, 2018


woman in the moon June 11, 2018

Kind thoughts to the BIL.
Food sounds lovely.
And it is summer!

ODSago June 11, 2018

Glad you had some time away, and I remember after being away that push to catch up on the work not attended to in one's absence. May it go easily and well. Hope your BIL's medical event goes well, also. Shattering sun here, the spring flowers are bewildered in my border. I feel wilted myself when I first walk outside each day--we had a memorable and lingering spring, which I enjoyed immensely.

Lyn June 11, 2018

🍰 to BIL.

Good luck resisting that charming cat. 😼

Miss E should bring you back a leprechaun.

Zipster June 13, 2018

The "Air-Sucker" scares the daylights out of me, but more that he still has support. I wish Mr. Mueller would hurry up and nail him AND his cronies. Best remedy for me is cat & dog time.

edna million June 18, 2018

I love the idea of intuitive eating, and focusing on being more mindful. It's just so easy to use as a way to deal with, oh, everything.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.