Crimes and Misdemeanors in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 9, 2018, 12:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The sweat peas are blooming and now early hydrangeas, no doubt about it, summer is on it’s way here.

We had a break this morning in our unusual warm weekend storm and I went out for a lovely low-key walk and caught up on some podcasts.

Is anybody else listening to “Caliphate” from the New York Times? I can’t tell you how much I admire Rukmini Callimachi and her reporting. I remember when she was in Mosul last year reporting from there but I have been admiring her work for about four years.

Mrs. Sherlock is in California visiting friends. We’ll walk next weekend but this summer she has various trips and retreats planned so we will get together more intermittently than we have recently.

I ran on the track on Tuesday morning before we went to Seattle and taught my three classes and took the hour and a half yoga class on Thursday night for me so I figure it is okay for me to take a leisurely walk this morning in the break in the rain. Oh last night I did a walk video with Leslie Sansone and her Walk at Home program because it was wet out too.

I loved the yoga class for me!

It was the Advanced Beginning class. These are serious yogis and I figured the intermediate class would be too challenging. The teacher had us hold full plank for a minute and I was able to do that but my arms were a little wobbly by the end. He noticed I wasn’t able to get my legs straight in full extension, something I have known since my ballet days but otherwise I did well. He was watching us carefully and making thoughtful corrections; this is why I am taking this class even though I thought we stretched our hamstrings a bit early in class. That is the traditional way in yoga as it is taught these days, I knew that going in.

I used a few things I learned in my class Friday. And I learned some anatomy about the front of the pelvis that I will incorporate in my classes next week. One thing that I was concerned about though was the awkward way the other students were holding their heads while they were watching him demonstrate.

This is an area I am going to be mindful of in my own classes. Still so much fun but I don’t know if I will bond with the other students. I hope so. It will become apparent as the summer unfolds.

I was able to make an appointment to see the sports doctor in a couple of weeks on my birthday. I am taking the day off work so that panned out perfectly. The only problem is that the sports lab/clinic is difficult to get to by bus so I am going to have to splurge and take a Lyft unless Most Honorable is willing to come up and take me.

We could have dinner out after. Mrs. Sherlock was going to have me over that night but something came up on her schedule so she wants to do it another night and as she is flitting around like a butterfly… :)

We shall see.

The cats are using their new tower (we call it the silo) but are mostly defaulting to their usual places. At least I was able to move out an assortment of cardboard boxes I had covered with a towel to make the place look slightly less provisional. Ha. I have only lived here 9 ½ years.

Oh, last Sunday when I was walking to church I stopped to talk to a guy living rough hanging out in the doorway of the Mexican Consulate. He was missing a number of teeth and was very thin but his stuff was organized and he looked clean and he had a black cat with white accents with him.

She looked well cared for, shiny coat, clear eyes and she was most interested in my shoes and he asked me if I had boy cats at home. He said she was leaving a message for them. He obviously was totally smitten by her and I asked what her name was and he said, “Miss Demeanor”. I laughed and laughed at that.

A perfect name for a girl cat in charge.


Last updated June 09, 2018


Lyn June 09, 2018

Love the cat's name. Also love that you took the time to connect with the owner. 😺🐾

Deleted user June 10, 2018

Loved the cat’s name !

Marg June 11, 2018

What a great name! And I loved the fact you spent enough time with him to find that out😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.