Bright light flashing in front of your eyes sound like a retina problem. I do not know how old you are but once everyone hits fifty I truly believe our minds filter out shit that our subconscious doesn’t judge “important “, although our consciousness might be of a different opinion . I think it’s normal.
I remember Herschel :-) I have Moxie and she would cheerfully eat anyone coming into my house uninvited but take someone’s hand off ? I think that story was BS . I walked pits at a crappy shelter, who had been fighters , and I never had one even growl at me . They were Teddy Bears and couch potatoes except with other dogs. People like to invent tales of terror crap about pits and it pisses me off .
The only dogs that ever bit me ( and they were just nips) was my bitchy neighbor’s Corgi and a minature pinscher at the pound ( I truly dislike those little dogs).
Crows love carrion ( road kill) but they like corn and fruit too. They are not much evolved from dinosaurs and garbage cans. They crap constantly ; it’s almost a steady stream. They are highly intelligent and have long memories ; as in they recognize people’s faces for years. If you piss them off they will fly over and crap on you :-) Crows are North America’s closest bird to a parrot :-)