Blood in the Water in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • June 7, 2018, 3:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Interviews aren’t guarantees of jobs; but I like to think in terms of the law of averages. If you interview ONCE, you have ONE chance at getting hired. If you do 4 interviews in 1 month, you’ve given yourself FOUR chances at getting hired.

Interviewed at Jones… was told I had the most qualifications… didn’t get the job.
Interviewed at Garrett… was told the CA was very interested… still waiting to hear.
Que county called me today and is very interested to interview me. Interview on the 18th.
Web county called me today and is very interested to interview me. Interview on the 19th.

All good things. But… as I’m working with my therapist on… my brain goes into “Manage, Consider, Plan” mode. It is something that often prevents me from “living in the moment” because I like being prepared for the various eventualities.

Scenario 1: Garrett County calls me tomorrow offering me a job.
Scenario 2: Garrett County calls me next week offering me a job.
Scenario 3: Garrett County calls me at any point to say they are not offering me a job.

Each of those scenarios leads to a different future/reaction. A call this week would make it more difficult to say “Can you wait until after the 20th?” Whereas a call next week would make it easier as the CA is at a conference that week. A phone call saying I am not offered the job would simplify my future options but would honestly fill me with concern as… if I am not fit for Garrett, can I really be fit for Que or Web?

Frankly, I prefer situations like what we’ve got with Que and Web. Tightly scheduled, relatively the same time.

The questions remain.

(1) Garrett County, if they call, would require a commute… a small community… but inexpensive housing.
(2) Web County, if they offer, has a county seat that is the size of all of Garrett County. But it is also often considered one of the worst 10 cities in Iowa due to extreme crime and poverty.
(3) Que County, if they offer, is a beautiful city located rather far away from everyone we care about… the County Seat is twice the size of Web County. So the largest possibility and a County Attorney’s office that has a staff of more than 1 person. However, Que is also famous for being a clique-centered area that is not as kind or welcoming to non-Catholics.

It is difficult to plan for things when there are three “possibles” and no “Offers.”


Always Laughing June 07, 2018

Whatever happens you will make the best of it.

Deleted user June 07, 2018

Take the one that offers !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.