"A lonely bitter hag with a lot of cats” in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 28, 2018, 1:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know what this plant is. I took this picture a couple of days ago out in the neighborhood. It is an area that is curated by professional landscape people around an apartment tower. Part of the redevelopment project.

Vox has this new 15-minute show available on demand on Netflix called “Explained” and I watched the first three episodes recently. There is one on Monogamy, one on the current state of Gene Editing and one really good one on the wealth gap between whites and particularly African Americans here in the U.S.

Although they don’t mention Portland, red lining and exclusion and discrimination are (and have been) so rampant here. I have been thinking lately about this idea of reparations. How do we make things right even though we personally are not responsible for slavery?

We certainly benefit from the fruits of slavery in this prosperous country. Yeah, yeah tell that to the family living in their car.

It is so wonderful to have had the time in the last few days to watch these shows! I never watch anything anymore. I also watched the David Letterman interviews with Tina Fey and Jay Z. The Jay Z one was fascinating because other than the profile in the New York Times a while ago and the fact that he is married to Beyoncé I knew nothing about him.

I was interested in the fact that though he was simply but very well dressed he wasn’t wearing any jewelry. He wasn’t wearing socks either.

It was very much a statement of wealth and power.

But he looked tired. Very tired.

Apparently he and Beyoncé have wedding ring tattoos. Didn’t Beyoncé say, “Put a ring on it?” Or are we over that now? Apparently Prince Henry doesn’t have a ring either.

I am grateful for so much here on this Memorial Day in the U.S.A. but for sure most grateful for the freedoms that I am allowed as a “lonely old hag with cats”, something a troll called the retired English teacher that corrected the letter she received from the White House (in response to her letter about the Parkland shooting) and sent it back.

Neither she nor I am bitter.

And this old hag, (like Henry’s bride’s amazing mother), is teaching yoga tonight and went out and had an experimental run of her inner pony this morning on the track. I love the track. This morning I did a proper warm up, you know, skipping, kickbacks, running backwards and sideways and deep lunges and then took my sweatshirt off to reveal a light sleeveless t-shirt and sports bra.

No wonder I don’t do proper warm ups. They are hard!

For the first time in at least 10 years I didn’t pay any attention to my heart rate. The only thing I was concerned about was my breath, the ability to breathe normally and my body temperature.

And boy did I get warm.

But I did not hit a wall. I am so excited. My old dog arthritic SI Joints were bothering me and my bunion (I was wearing old shoes) but those things are manageable, seriously.

Could there be biking and running in my near future? That would be so good because they are both such stress relievers and mood boosters and in the age of Jordan Peterson and Sam Harris and oh yeah that vain creature in the above mentioned White House I can use all the stress relief I can get.


Last updated May 28, 2018


Deleted user May 28, 2018

I just finished reading about that letter that was corrected, and admitted I found it annoying that someone would do that. I think shaming anyone sucks, even if the person you shamed sucks. I'm curious what others think. But I do agree with the message on freedom!

Great job on the track! That's pretty impressive.

I think maybe those flowers are Sweet Williams?
https://www.google.com/search?q=sweet+william&client=firefox-b-ab&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwjwuIbyjqnbAhWpyoMKHVCnAJ4Q_AUICigB&biw=1600&bih=730

Amelie's Twin May 28, 2018

It looks like it could be a variety of mountain laurel - state flower of my home state, Connecticut!

I had an experimental brisk-ish walk on the treadmill today, first time in way too long. I got warm, and my feet and shins were angry. But I didn't get winded, which I consider a win. If it wasn't for the aforementioned pain, I would have bumped the speed higher. Baby steps.

Zipster May 28, 2018

I love that she corrected the letter. Who knows if the he wrote it himself? Either way it should have been proofed before it left the premises. Of course, I am the person yelling at the newscasters, who don't know the difference between and adjective and an adverb. Lately I notice that redundancy is popular, as in "John Smith he went to..."
Arrrgh!
Glad you got out and ponied about!

woman in the moon May 28, 2018

They look like sweet Williams to me too. Sometimes called phlox. They seed themselves and keep coming back year after year and are happy in the shade.

I saw the letter but I didn't make it big enough for me to read. I have no opinion on it.
Very little to no opinion on wedding rings either. I'd say they tend to be a leash on a male but I have a feeling people wouldn't like that.

Congrats on all the physical stuff. I wish I could do some of it myself.

Wit' or witout May 28, 2018

Sweet William

Lyn May 28, 2018

I wish you pain free hiking and running.

Marg May 29, 2018

An exciting breakthrough! Here's hoping it's a sign of things to come for you😊

Marg May 29, 2018

And well done to Yvonne - who looks worlds away from being 'a lonely old hag with cats'!

mcbee May 29, 2018

I loved that she wrote the letter....it's embarrassing that our highest office can't manage to write an error-free document!

And those of us whom live with cats know their mystical properties are what make them, and us by assocation, cool.

edna million May 29, 2018

I just read the letter today, and totally applaud her! The highest office in the land ought to at least be able to produce a grammatically correct letter. OUGHT to. It's sad when even that is too high a bar, let alone everything else. It's a dumbed down world we're living in, for sure.

Exciting about the experimental run!

That show does sound interesting.

Deleted user May 31, 2018

I agree with Charis; I am not into shaming people , no matter who it is and I think she should be grateful they responded to her letter , as I know thousands wrote to Obama over different issues and they did not even acknowledge that they did so. No doubt it was an intern or clerk responding and it’s pathetic that they are no doubt prestigious college graduates and could not manage to write a grammatically correct letter but I highly doubt it was the president so being petty did not accomplish much . In this case the messenger undid the value of her message .
Great accomplishment at the track !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.