MEMORIAL DAY in Postcards 4

  • May 26, 2018, 5:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I like this flag photograph a lot. It’s an old shot, and one of my really old cranky computers reduced it in size. It was taken by an equally elderly camera, but I’ve enjoyed the unusualness of it for years.

We were on the Point Loma Sub Base for a retirement ceremony. Looking out the window of the club, there was a dry dock with an American flag on it. There is someone in the control cabin at the top of the wall. It seemed to put the image into not so foreign a perspective.

Have a happy Memorial Day friends. Remember those we have lost, but enjoy the family and friends we have now.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
- Himself: Instead of two good sized accounts, he now has 24 small accounts. He fights to keep his numbers up as the big boss looks at numbers. Today he is in the park, and tomorrow he got us seats to “Solo.”
- Herself: My 34th birthday yesterday. I felt I didn’t make much sense in what I said to the Friday group. Sunday I talk for one minute in front of 200 some folks. Margot called from AZ where she is collecting some of her Pop’s things. She made it fine, and found the original of that little orange drawing I’m using here.
- Reading: A couple of old Hillerman’s. They are wonderful.
- Watching: The Tehachapi Live Train Cam…

.
- Open Diary: I had returned, but they wished me to approve a statement that they could use my copyrighted materials without my OK. They can’t. As a professional artist, all my work is copyrighted in my name.
- Gratitudes: Lots of them. I am still on a high from those years I celebrated yesterday


Last updated May 27, 2018


woman in the moon May 26, 2018

I like this picture. This time I noticed the white thing with the red paint stripes on it in the lower left foreground balancing the man in the cab.

I'm glad you read the OD agreement. I'm too lazy to do things like that. Seems like another site has come up with a new security agreement too.

When I gave blood, there was a statement saying they could do anything they wanted with it. I disliked that but I signed it anyway. I'm thinking that wasn't Red Cross but another blood collecting organization.

MageB woman in the moon ⋅ May 26, 2018

The Red thing with white is a red buoy. One can tie all sorts of ships up to it using those hooks on the top. The white is bird poop. :)

aunty EM May 26, 2018

I thought my prepaid life membership at OD was supposed to carry into this new version. Guess I thought wrong because now they want money before I can open my diary. You won't find me there.

MageB aunty EM ⋅ May 26, 2018

I'm here instead.

MageB aunty EM ⋅ May 26, 2018

It is supposed to. If you want to write there, send the DM a note.
diarymaster@opendiary.com

Hillbilly Princess May 27, 2018

Deleted user May 27, 2018

Happy Mrmorial Day and congrats on your 34 years !!!! I love the flag picture !

NorthernSeeker May 28, 2018

You sound good...feisty and defending boundaries.

gattaca May 28, 2018

I'm remembering my dad. Navy, WW2.
My returning to OD is a non-starter. I like it here. :-)

MageB gattaca ⋅ May 28, 2018

I tried it there and am here to stay. I miss my old friend Bonnie, but I told her where I was. George is standing next to his mom and dad.

Marg May 28, 2018

Congratulations on your 34 years!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.