A reflection in A New Chapter

  • May 21, 2018, 12:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is complicated and I will take the time to explain it during a different occasion because I don’t feel like digging it all up.

I feel that I have hit a dead end career wise.
I am trying to move forward but it is hard to. To add some detail, my job isn’t particularly bad, like any other one, it has its ups and downs. However, the long lasting issue has been the hours. I tend to work at night which makes it difficult to get decent sleep/be more social. Over the years they have tried to cushion this with some benefits such as bonuses and working remotely. The working remotely probably being the biggest one, if that got taken away I would most certainly quit very quickly.

Moving up/switching shifts has become more difficult. While they treat me well and I have enough seniority to demand things..I feel it has made me mediocre. I know the job well and I can perform it blind..that combined with the lack of mobility has made me not try as hard as I should.

I have reached out to my father before since he has decades of experience way up the corporate ladder.

He has offered in the past to help me go back to college or pay it all since he can afford it.

However, I am not really sure what I would study.

I regret and not regret studying history. I enjoyed it but I really have no tie to the historical community. Just about everyone I know who studied it, has no tie to it. One person does and its because he got a PHD..I think he is like $80k in debt..so no thanks.

On the side, I have had a fun time as a prop maker/professional toy collector..but that is not really a career. It is more something that I do on the side to make extra money/have fun as a hobby. It is also, at least in my opinion, not profitable enough to pursue full time.

For a while I was interested in computer coding..I sat down to do some online coursework to get a sense for it but I didn’t really like it. In the back of my head, I also kept thinking that I was just doing it because I know friends who do it and they make good money.

My house is picking up a lot of momentum as far as price goes. It has doubled in the last year. I have considered selling it, turning a profit, and moving to Costa Rica to start an animal sanctuary or something…or maybe a bed and breakfast, who knows.
I can take all my 3D printers and sculpting supplies and keep making stuff on the side.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.