Short one... in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 20, 2018, 11:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

/245. 999,756 to go. Rainy, cold day. Raw, in the vernacular. Jim and had lunch at the tin elevator in McGregor. It’s right my the river with the railroad between. We sat at one of the picture windows and watched the big gray-brown river go by. There were bird and one boat. When we left a train came from the north. Uncle Pete pulling a huge number of empty open topped cars. Love the noise and energy and motion and distance times metal of a train.

/246. The book store wasn’t open. It’s always open but not today. I had planned to tell the owner about my experience at the other store with books I could not buy. So that’s two days, and three bookstores that I have been at least close to and have bought nothing. Maybe that’s sign from the book gods. Mary, you have enough books. Stop. I will take it to heart. Until the next time. I will keep you informed of my progress in that direction.

/247. I’m not sure I have enough to write about tonight. Nothing much is going on. I might have more to say about the wedding but it all seems like work and I am not up for work right now. In fact I’m thinking if I can get his paragraph to be about as long as the two above it, I might declare this an entry. I mean there has to be inspiration of some kind. If I’m not careful I’ll be telling you about the Bunnies Against Dog march at the end of the driveway and I sure don’t want to do that. 999,753 left.


Deleted user May 21, 2018

:-) your Maddie Poppe from Iowa is one of the three finalists on American Idol. She is excellent . I hope she wins!

woman in the moon Deleted user ⋅ May 21, 2018

I've been hearing about her but haven't looked her up.

Deleted user woman in the moon ⋅ May 21, 2018

We will see tonight. She is very humble but easily the most talented of a great group of three left . She sings beautifully , is quite very cute, , plays several instruments and writes music. She is not flamboyant though so I am afraid the one that is : Gabby , is gong to win. She is very talented too but less than Maddie .

Deleted user woman in the moon ⋅ May 21, 2018

Wow, my typos are awful but I am too lazy to fix them because it’s such a hassle on my phone. Just please excuse me :-(

Deleted user woman in the moon ⋅ May 22, 2018

She won!

TruNorth May 21, 2018

I wonder why the bookstores aren’t open?
A restaurant in a elevator sounds interesting. Do you have a photo of it?

woman in the moon TruNorth ⋅ May 21, 2018

Here's a pic of the restaurant not showing the elevator but showing relationship to railroad.
https://www.facebook.com/671121752961208/photos/a.671305159609534.1073741828.671121752961208/1691708840902489/?type=3&theater

WhatDreamsMayCome May 21, 2018

It still reads easy. ;-)

woman in the moon WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ May 21, 2018

Thank you. You are always kind to me.

NorthernSeeker May 21, 2018

How annoying that bookstore was closed! You'll have 3 bookstore stories for the next bookstore. I'm guessing there aren't any decent bookstores in Waukon itself.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ May 21, 2018

No. That makes them events.

NorthernSeeker woman in the moon ⋅ May 21, 2018

What options are there for buying books in Waukon?

thesunnyabyss May 21, 2018

I hope the rain stops soon,

weird the book store was closed,

woman in the moon thesunnyabyss ⋅ May 21, 2018

As far as I know - garage sales, the library's once a month book sale and possibly St. Vinnies. The library used to have books on sale all the time but now it's just one afternoon a week. There is a big drug store downtown that sells magazines and may have popular paper back books.
I'm don't 'need' books, I just like them. And since I'm paring down things, maybe they can be pared down too.

Brakeshoe Bob May 22, 2018

The railroad operates in all sots of weather.. i liked nasty weather railroading.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.