Barcelona & Sitges in Adventures in paradise

  • May 19, 2018, 2:58 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When did I last write? Oh yes on the train

Anyway, I’m in Rome at the moment. Barcelona was a beautiful city. Sitges was nice and easy to get to. The Magic Fountain was pretty special.

The RyanAir flight was totally fine! Because I’d paid the extras. My extra-time seat was soooo spacious too, but I probably didn’t need it.
I saw a Vodafone counter at the airport (since I’d finally used up the data from Portugal) and had to pay 55eu to sign up! I said it was only 20 in Portugal and they said, “Portugal cheap, Italy expensive.”
Great to know on my first day! It was probs hiked-up airport prices also, I figured.

The airport transfer however, never showed up! The bus schedule times were way out of whack and not up to date with the times, and the company I’d booked through never showed up where it said they were meant to. Very confusing. I must’ve waited an hour and then gave up and caught the train. So much easier! I was confused as to what was a 1st class and a 2nd class seat, as they all seemed to be the same! Turns out Italy has entire 1st and 2nd class trains! I was in the 1st but it wasn’t very impressive or comfortable at all, so now I wonder what the 2nd-class are like.
Got to Termini and found my hostel with the help of Google Maps. How the hell did travellers find ANYWHERE before the invention of Google Maps? Blows my mind.
I see oldies holding out these huge maps in front of them in the tourist areas and I’m like, “Fuck that!”

One full day in Rome so far, and seen Vatican City and the Colloseum 😊 Stunned at how cool the Colloseum looks in real life. The only bad thing is the people - ie. Africans - tryna sell me shit. Like fuck off and let tourists be tourists.

Anyway, loving the pizza here, but the gelato is to die for! I’m gonna be a fat pig after this country I swear. Done a hell of a lot of walking though. Feet are glad to be up at the end of the day. I got hopelessly lost today when I realised I’d brought the wrong charging cable with me, so that was fun, not! I spent a few hours wandering the streets trying to find my hostel. My saving grace was coming across a store that sold cheap phone cables! Like, the cost was 4eu. In Aust that woulda been $20. And I needed a new one anyway since I blew up one back in Portugal lol.

I’m on a top bunk this time, which sucks, but only in a room of four. A guy from London beneath me and last night there was a young guy from Manchester in the bottom bunk across from him. I first saw him when I woke up and looked over and saw how HOT he was. Really built, probably 18 or 19, and then he rolls onto his back leaving the sheets sporting an impressive tent.
I thought I was going to faint!
And of course he’s straight as they come 😒
Introduced myself later in the morning and his name was James. “You didn’t just come over here all the way just for Eurovision did you?” he asked. “Well that was the main reason,” I said.
If it wasn’t already incredibly obvious I’m gay, then that should’ve iced the cake.
Unfortunately he checked out this morning for Florence. That’s where I’d headed next, but not until Monday.

So it’s been fun! I was thinking of a day trip to Naples tomorrow, see how I go. Haven’t been as lucky with guys in Italy as I was in Spain unfortunately, but it’s early days hopefully 😊


nothinglikeyou May 19, 2018

The joy's of hostels! You should have asked him if he needed any help with that "tent." Safe travels!

~Octopussy~ May 22, 2018

How fun.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.