Interview Update in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • May 17, 2018, 8:25 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Went to the interview.
The County Attorney told me that I was the most qualified person he was interviewing.
Of course… that doesn’t necessarily mean that I’m going to get the job. I’ve been passed over for jobs I was most qualified for anyway. The job is in a MUCH better place than Tiny Town… but it is still Rural Iowa. Though, it is located in a much bigger city (big enough to have a Wal Mart and a McDonalds) and is a LOT closer to a mega-city.

If that job doesn’t come through, though? ANOTHER Assistant County Attorney job opened up. So if I don’t hear back next week or if I do hear back as a negative, I can still apply for that one (provided I get my application in before the end of the month).

Of course… Wife hears that I was the most qualified for the job and has gone into an instant panic, re-thinking and taking back everything.

Now? If I get the job, she wants to move with me. When I mentioned that she had already said in a previous conversation that she would not be interested in moving because she wanted to continue to work with her therapist… she ignored it. She’s focusing entirely on (1) financial concerns; and (2) her panic at being left alone (ever).

It is frustrating. This is her once again wanting to flee her job and her therapy and everything else. Run away and not deal with her shit. Frustrating. Disappointing.

It would be in her best interest to stay here… continue to see her therapist… work her Non Wal Mart Job (for more than 2 months!) and grow up a little bit. In fact, her “change of heart” downright angers me. (Which I did share with her). Now I almost hope I don’t get the ACA job.

If I do, though? I’ll certainly “put my foot down!”

But here’s the funny/awkward/unfortunate situation.

When I started at Tiny Town, I was told that the County Attorney was going to retire. I didn’t want to be County Attorney. Therefore, the Board of Supervisors basically let me know that once I helped them hire a County Attorney, my job would be going away.

DURING MY INTERVIEW, the County Attorney today said that he was not running for County Attorney again. His term is up in January. We won’t find out if someone is running in his place until August. He assured me that the Board of Supervisors would not terminate the Assistant County Attorney job. But… still? It is a bit… cautionary. Y’know?

Oh… speaking of cautionary… you know how the Chinese still owe me money? They sent me paperwork to jump through before they’ll pay me. I need to justify which private cases they owe me for. Stupid fucking.... yeah. GLAD I don’t work there anymore. Unlike with Tiny Town, I can’t see me ever regretting leaving there!


stargazing May 17, 2018

Good luck!

Always Laughing May 17, 2018

I hope you get the job and you put your foot down and live separately for a little. It doesn't surprise me that your former employers are doing this to you.

Meginsanity May 18, 2018

Good luck on the job, and dealing with your wife. I can sympathize to some degree with thinking catastrophically as soon as something that seemed out of reach is suddenly realistic. It can be tough (and I don't take it out on other people, I just sit there thinking through everything) but I usually feel ridiculous as soon as I take my time and consider everything. I hope she comes around, although I know it will be difficult.

Deleted user May 20, 2018

Stick to your plan. If you get the job ; tell her you want a break and that she needs time to grow up and work on her issues. Plus keep her job. Be honest and adamant .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.