Dating in Stuff

  • May 17, 2018, 2:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It seems like several people in my life recently have either been trying to date or have started new relationships, so it’s occurred to me that I’ve been in a bit of a dry patch myself. I haven’t been in an actual relationship in more than two years. I went through a stretch with Ron about six months back that was coming close to being a relationship but didn’t quite make it. But at least with him I was sleeping with someone.

It’s funny how expectations change with that. I haven’t had sex in six months and it really hasn’t mattered too much to me. I don’t often even think about it. But if I was in a relationship and it had been even two weeks without sex I’d probably be going out of my mind.

So I put myself on a dating site, which is probably more like a hook-up site. I have nothing against hook-ups, but it’s just not what I’m looking for at the moment. I want to find a man with a job and at least a certain degree of concern for his health and hygiene who would be happy in a relationship with a woman with three teenagers. (Olsen technically just turned 20, but I’m not ready to accept that I have a daughter that old.)

I don’t think that should be hard to find, but I feel picky. I feel like I’m entitled to be picky. I’ve made it 50 years of life so far without this other person, so it’s not like I really need him. I want to find a best friend and companion who also wants to sleep with me. And my priorities really come in that order.

In other news, we’re a week from our Memorial Day weekend camping trip and I’m really itching for it to get here. I feel like we haven’t gone on any trips since last summer, and that might actually be true.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.