Partner in Stuff

  • May 16, 2018, 5:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m trying to be modern and understanding of these new things, but I admit I’m still a bit confused. Mercy has a girlfriend now. And that’s weird because it was my understanding that Mercy was attracted to boys. But everything keeps changing with her so I just have to accept I don’t know what’s going on.

But to further complicate things, Mercy’s girlfriend is apparently not exactly a girlfriend. This is because even though she looks, talks, acts, and dresses like a girl, she identifies as non-binary and uses “they” pronouns. It’s confusing to me because I figured that non-binary people would make an attempt to be somewhat androgynous, but she doesn’t. Or they doesn’t. And of course even though I want to use the word “girlfriend,” they say “partner.”

Regardless, it’s a good step I think because Mercy hasn’t been particularly social until just recently and I’m enjoying seeing her getting out with people, even if it confuses me.


Seacláid May 16, 2018

I’ve not come across a transgender, non-binary person before. Gay and lesbian, yes, but not anything more. For all I read about the different types of gendering, I don’t seem to come across them as much as I thought I would. I think I would just accept it as if someone wearing an orange on their head was the most normal thing to do.

Perpetually Plump May 16, 2018

You are a trooper. I'd be like, "who is they? Do you have a split personality? Is there a mouse in your pocket? I don't understand."

SilentEcho May 16, 2018

I'm with perpetually plump. I think some of this stuff is just crazy and confuses people. And ues, to dress ands act like a girl how IS she non bianary?! Kids these days.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.