Tuesday and Thing in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • May 15, 2018, 5:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Blah. Not having access to my Playstation 4 sucks, lol.
My Tuesday is pretty much limited, too.

(1) Swim
(2) Read 50 prosebox entries
(3) Eye appointment at 3
(4) E-mail LAV to determine what phone number to call tomorrow for my interview

And that is about it.

Maybe I’ll use the extra time I have available this week to work on Drafts Entries to publish. Or read “Is it you me or ADD” a book I instantly purchased after a recommendation. I’m hoping that book will provide at least some insight as to how much of what Wife does is related to mental illness.

Here’s an awful confession… periodically, I’ll join a Dating Site for free to see what kind of person these “advanced algorithms” match me with. I am almost always disappointed with the results. Match.com had some promising choices (were I to ever actively be looking) but I’ve found OKCupid to be simply abysmal. I’d be willing to consider POF or TINDER just to see what happens… but to my knowledge, those require a Facebook Connection and I’d rather keep this curiosity on the DL. I’m not exactly actively looking to cheat on my wife, of course, but in this new digital age… the “you can find better” can somewhat empirically be put to the test. And in my situation… apparently, I can’t. At least… not within the algorithms that presently exist. Though… honestly… I’m certain somebody would say that if I removed geographical restraints, it would be easier. Limiting myself to a 200 mile radius from where I still live gives me all of Iowa, a little of Minnesota, a sliver of Wisconsin, the northwestern edge of Illinois, the northern half of Missouri, a sliver of Kansas, a sliver of South Dakota, and the eastern fourth of Nebraska. Likely someone out there is saying “drop geographic restrictions and you may be surprised!” but… for a number of reasons, I think I’ll save the “Hail Mary, all call around the world” move for if/when I leave my marriage, go onto a dating site, have failure for six months. Yeah… then I’ll look from Alaska to Zaire.

I had an eye appointment today at 3 so I had to cram my workout into a smaller time frame. Busted my ass to make sure I got 700 yards in within 30 minutes. As is often the case after a hard swim… my brain wasn’t exactly in the the best shape when I left the gym. As evidenced by the following story… not “notable” necessarily but… hey, worth sharing at least. So I’m walking towards the black Honda Accord in the parking lot and I open the back door to put my bag away. But there is a shopping bag in the back seat that shouldn’t be there… and then the car’s alarm starts to sound. And I realize my black Honda Accord is parked a few spots closer to the building. As I hurry to my car and pull away, I’m thinking two specific things. First: I hope that car alarm goes off. Second: wait… do you mean to tell me that they set their car alarm, but didn’t lock the car. The whole thing would never have happened if they had just locked their car… I would have realized that the car was locked… and put two and two together when my key fob didn’t open the door. But, of course, there is another possibility… one that, for the manufacturer’s sake, I hope is not what happened. My key fob could have unlocked the car door but didn’t disengage the car alarm. I honestly don’t think that’s possible… but as I can’t claim for certain that it is entirely IMPOSSIBLE, I offer it as one possibility… even if a very outside chance.

After that… eye exam. I was… surprised… at how many extremely attractive young women are working at the eye doctor now but it led me to think about an old economic indicator that I learned in business classes. “Attractive girls indicate economic strength.” Literally, the lesson was.... if you see a lot of attractive women in minimum wage jobs, the economy is terrible. Attractive women can work as Dental Hygienists, Receptionists, and many other “low skilled” jobs that make considerably more money and offer better benefits. That was the lesson. Not sure if it’s super accurate… I do know that such a lesson should not be taught now (how far we’ve come in a decade). But that is what I thought about. My eyes are stable which is good news. The nerve damage in both eyes has even decreased somewhat. Instead of 3 areas of concern in each eye, there is just one. So awesome news!

Of course… dilation and all the stuff they did to my eyes to test? I probably shouldn’t have driven home. But of course… needed to. That being said… I’m not going back outside to drive to 3 different grocery stores to pick up groceries for two dinner recipes. Hopefully, Wife understands and will accept my proposal for dinner instead. Fingers crossed on that one. (Updated, she is cool with it. Which has got to mean that her day didn’t have any problems she felt she needed to take out on me. Hooray....?)

I do have an interview tomorrow morning, around 11. Problem is… it is a phone interview and they never gave me a phone number to call. And I don’t think they asked for a phone number from me. So… I e-mailed them to find out who to call. Hopefully that works out.


stargazing May 15, 2018

Good luck tomorrow!!

Rivercity May 15, 2018

Good luck tomorrow! By the way, dental hygienists are different from dental assistants and make much more money.

Deleted user May 15, 2018

FYI, you no longer need Facebook in order to be on Tinder. The men they consider my 'matches' on POF and OKC are so pathetic it's amusing. Like, total opposite of what I'm into. And on POF, some of my so called matches have flat out ignored my messages. So...that's always nice. One of these guys is probably Mr. Right but he's too busy ignoring me! LOL

Always Laughing May 15, 2018

Dating just sucks anywhere and everywhere, but that doesn't mean you stay in an unhealthy unhappy marriage either.

Perpetually Plump May 15, 2018

Your wife's problem is not add. But it's definitely a personality disorder. I have add. And I do not act like she does. Not even close.
I met my boyfriend on okc. I was on the fence about clicking on him though, because he did not look like my type. I had decided though to swipe right on anyone matching over 85% (and who had answered a ton of questions). So, I swiped right on maybe a dozen guys. And of course he was the one to message me that night. He was pretty funny and cool, but it wasn't until a week later and many times asking they I agreed to go out with him. And here we are a year later...

Deleted user May 15, 2018

My heart goes out to you, not being able to fire up that majestic beast called the PlayStation 4.
I always found online dating sites to be useless, honestly. Tried several back in the day and got nothing.
Good luck in that interview tomorrow!

Deleted user May 17, 2018

Hope that interview went well !

Rhapsody in Purple May 21, 2018

I have heard about people with the same type of car being able to unlock each other’s cars with their keys.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.