This, and well...That in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 12, 2018, 6:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The iris out and about continue to not disappoint. We had a cloudy cool morning that has given way to a sunny spring day. Mrs. Sherlock (who I haven’t seen all week) picked me up at the gym this morning and we went up into the toney West Hills neighborhood to plan a hike for the Trails Club in Forest Park. The rhododendrons up there are spectacular.

These large homes with extensive gardens are such a joy to wander by.

We had a particularly nice visit with each other and did not get lost! She had originally planned a much more ambitious hike but this one ended up being about 5 ½ miles with plenty of elevation. I had 73 floors on my Fitbit when I got home.

It was not an easy week for her husband but he is doing well and seeing progress everyday. His energy is returning but only a few degrees at a time. She says he is uneasy about driving (he is about to turn 80) and she thinks that could be his eyes and that makes it a bit more challenging for her. In a few weeks she is going to fly down to the Bay Area for a few days to visit friends and he is anxious about that too.

She is looking forward to getting a short break. I know it will be good for her and she is going to a populated area with cell coverage unlike her last getaway going snowshoeing on Mt. Rainer, which turned into this huge crisis for them both.

She gave me permission (I asked) to drift for a while instead of finding some new goal to focus on and attach myself to in the next few years until I retire.

I need to get the cat’s teeth worked on (ka-ching!) and start thinking about what hearing aides to get. I need to start looking at Medicare Advantage plans and figure out which (if any) I can afford as I will be eligible in a year. And I need to continue to work on marketing my classes.

The income from the yoga classes covers the studio rental now and this year I think the business will pay for all the other expenses too. So I am on track for that, the plan was to be in the black by the time I retire.

Mostly though I honestly think I need to indulge in more constructive rest. Watching movies, reading books I enjoy, spending time with lovely people that nourish me. Working a job mostly with dysfunctional people that I am burned out on is taking its toll.

When I am retired I will get involved in local politics in ways I don’t have the time or energy for now.

I also want to continue to work on the mystery of why although I am strong and healthy I can’t seem to ride a bike very far or run. All this time I thought it was my heart or my lungs but they are fine. I can row (like I did this morning) for 20 minutes with my heart rate up in the peak zone for part of it and I am fine.

This week I learned about this treatment protocol that is more popular in Europe than here called naprapathy. plural naprapathies. : a system of treatment by manipulation of connective tissue and adjoining structures (as ligaments, joints, and muscles) and by dietary measures that is held to facilitate the recuperative and regenerative processes of the body.

The thing I find interesting about it is this idea of moving the body in all sorts of directions to prepare it for the stresses of everyday living and help with adaptive routine movement patterns we all fall into because of injury or illness or I don’t know, sitting in chairs looking at screens. :)

It sounds like this might be a good compliment to my yoga knowledge.

There is no lack of things to be interested in. I had a lovely day off on Thursday. Most Honorable and I went out to Powell Butte near the cemetery and hiked around with our binoculars. We got out about as far as we were going from the parking lot when it started to rain so we made our way back at a less leisurely pace. Then we went and got fish n’ chips. We split an order of salmon and cod. Oh it was so good!

Then I took a long nap with cats. I am sure Mr. Finch would have approved. I read other people’s poems too.

These days off, like today and Thursday give me so much hope when the news is overwhelmingly disturbing and one’s energy to deal with it all flags.


Last updated May 12, 2018


Lyn May 12, 2018

Mrs. Sherlock is a good friend.

The Iris is wonderful.

Deleted user May 14, 2018

Nice entry. It does not seem possible that you are so close to retirement !
Staying interested is one of the keys to staying young, I think .

Marg May 14, 2018

The Internet is certainly brilliant for feeding our minds and stimulating our interests!
Plural naprapathys got my attention because of my recent period of being bedbound but I will need to return to it as Willow is not well just now and I find I'm not concentrating on anything else very well :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.