Knots in a rope.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 9, 2018, 7:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

/194. 999,807 left. Using numbers instead of words is so much easier, it’s hardly a challenge, she said as she was .0193% of her way to her target. I used my Casio fx-451 calculator that is 34 years old. It’s a lovely bit of 80’s era technology that was given to me when I got my statistics job at my old old old employer. It does standard deviations, metric conversions, trig functions, has a lot of scientific constants stored and will generate a random number if you are so inclined. It’s solar powered and works as good as the day I got it. I used it every day of my job. There is a label with my name typed on it under worn piece of super Scotch tape. I lost it several times but it always came back.

/195. Maybe I should have the Casio fx-451 buried with my ashes. Do you have a piece of tKechnology or maybe some other tool that has followed you through a good part of your life that you would take with you to the afterlife?

/196. Reminds me of a lawyer joke. Very rich person goes to a big law firm known for estate planning. Very rich person wants to take their money with them. The head of the big law firm says we can do that. Rich person asks what assurance they can have that it will work out. Head of law firm says we can send a junior partner along with you.

/197. Lawyer jokes, lawyer stories, lawyer escapades are running through our lives. Schneidermann the New York state attorney general who had a good liberal reputation likes to hit the women he loves. Turns out he drinks a lot too. I have very little experience with lawyers and not much more with men, but it’s always seemed that the least you could expect from a man was that he not physically hurt you. Again I’ve had a simple life, but it surprises me that women stay with men who abuse them. I understand that women with children who are dependent on a man and if a man does it in anger and then is sorry - that is totally wrong too but I understand how it happens. But when a man is hurting you as a part of the way he loves you that is different.

/198. Warning. Previous paragraph has a terribly convoluted sentence. I looked at it and thought about fixing it but I gave up. Please feel free to ignore it.

/199. John’s school, Iowa State University is hurting for money. They have had as many teachers leave in the last year as they had in the last ten years. It’s a good school. Very good tech reputation. We are throwing away our culture. We are throwing away our education. We are lowering taxes for rich people though. So it’s all good.

/200. It rained overnight and is still cloudy. No visible sunrise. We know it’s there because it’s not dark anymore. I started out a little after 5:30 with Gracie but before we got much past the mailbox she danced in front of me, indicating we needed to go back home. Honestly girl I want more of a walk than that. But our girl Gracie knows what she wants so I turned around and went back home. I put her and a munchie bone in the house and closed the door and took off alone. I made it up to Joana’s mailbox which include half of Joana’s hill so that was a fair break in walk. I’ll try to stay active through the day too.

/201. I’m feeling immeasurably better for the bits of walking I am doing and for getting out of the house a bunch of times a day. I was letting myself sink into a muddy puddle of despond. Turns out we have a fair amount of control over our actions and emotions. My house is still a mess and I have very little interest in cooking but I’ll take whatever improvement comes my way.

/202. On my way home from my walk I spent some time thinking about chapter 2 of Paper Cuts to the Heart. I think I need to free up Della from her kids, sweet that are, for some plot development. The kids can go stay with her mom, then she can get her old Vespa tuned up at the local Harley shop and dally a bit with Duaine the only slightly tattooed wrenchman, while she’s waiting for Duke or whatever I called him to come back. I’m visualizing just a little grease on white pique. On the other hand, it might be more interesting to have her meet up with a sadistic attorney general. Opinions, anyone?

/203. By now we’ve all read the new diary person’s entry about improving the diary’s structure… and asking for us to help pay for it. I have no problem with doing that. No argument, no reluctance. Nothing. Let’s hope we can do what we need to keep the place going.

/204. I seem to be at the end of my rope - 999,797 left.

Have a good and glorious day my friends. It’s the only one we’ve got.


Last updated May 15, 2018


thesunnyabyss May 09, 2018

we need some rain in the worst way, things are very dry here already, hopefully we'll get some rain tonight,

walking is such a great mood lifter, I'm glad it's helping,

have a good day!!!

NorthernSeeker May 09, 2018

I love the way you calculated the %...and I want to congratulate you for making it into the hundredths of a percent towards your goal. That is a significant advancement. You made it to the 700s, too. Please, no sadism in the Paper Cuts to the Heart. For once can the woman please have great sex, with no strings attached, and with no consequences? Literature is littered with characters like Madame Bovary and Anna Karenina.

Deleted user May 09, 2018

I would take my phone in case I can call home :-)
I understand intellectually tolerating a physically abusive SO might be an illness stemming from a devestated self esteem BUT seriously , emotionally , how many times can you get hit and not do whatever it takes to make it stop ? Illness or no illness. The man who ever lays a hand on me has taken his last few breaths. I never kid about that . All my SO understood that clearly before they became significant .

Just Annie May 10, 2018

Does a thesaurus count as technology? No, perhaps not, but it's a tool. I have a lovely one I was given as a gift for high school graduation. It's a fine book, although I haven't used it in ages. Maybe Ella would like it. She likes words very much.

Marg May 10, 2018

I have one of those Casios too pinched from work although I use the calculator on my phone when I need one. I suppose my phone would be handy if I got buried alive but in that case I'd better get it to the Apple shop smartish because it desperately needs a new battery!
Glad you're enjoying your walks again😊

Park Row Fallout May 14, 2018

I've never been one to support/allow/accept hitting people you love (men, women, children) but I can definitely understand how alcohol abuse poisons relationships and brings out the worst in people. And especially with lawyers... I can understand substance abuse. Our occupation has a long history of substance abuse that has now required First Year Lawyer lectures of "You will get addicted to something. Alcohol, drugs, sex, gambling, work... you will develop an addiction. Here are resources to use when that happens."

Serin May 15, 2018

I can't say I've had any good experiences with lawyers I had to hire. I've met some that seemed competent though.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ May 15, 2018

Lawyers always seemed way above me educationally, socially, etc. For first two-thirds of my life the only contact I had with one was a phone call I made when we were thinking of buying a house. I don't remember what he said but we didn't buy the house. He had a good reputation in Cedar Rapids as a 'people's' lawyer. Later he went to jail for shuffling money around helping bankruptcies during the '80s farm crises.
Now though I seem surrounded by lawyers. My cousin and her husband are both lawyers, he's running for state legislature. My friend Rob Sand gave me a hug when I gave him $11 for his campaign. Local Dems have 3 lawyers who I am on at least nodding basis with. One is my lawyer who helped with various property transfers, and once gave me very comforting phone advice when younger son had a piece of very bad luck. Also former county attorney (and Blazes ex) is a FB friend who translates Russian poetry.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ May 15, 2018

Maybe my life is not as narrow as I think.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.