Monday and *dim bid* in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • May 7, 2018, 7:30 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Monday. A day I once grew to dread is, today, a day of… not much.

I woke up about an hour before Wife did today. Stayed in bed trying to go back to sleep, then grabbed my phone and almost texted a friend. I’m so weird about that. Just… contact with friends in general. I’m always worried that I’m bothering them or, especially if we haven’t talked recently, like I may have missed a hidden sign that was supposed to be meaningful. This is the problem growing up around the type of people I did. The people around me were always the type to say things like, “I told him no, why didn’t he ask me again?” Or “You rushed to the vending machine when you saw him there; you like him, don’t you?!” Another reason why I’m “the weird one”… because I’d like to be as blunt and straightforward as possible… but I was raised to be as diplomatic and gentile as could be. I imagine there are many people in this world who don’t think, “I want to text my friend, but I’m not sure if they would be okay with that. Better to not. I don’t want to seem needy.” Like… is that a crazy thing to think or am I being too hard on myself?

After Wife left for work, I got up and sorted some things in the house. Did my weekly weigh in: 223.6… so still losing but slowly. I’ve started charting things for myself to see how things are going. Caloric Intake, Specific Exercises… and I’ve been drinking a lot more water. I’m hoping that I can keep losing. Granted, I really would honestly like to be losing faster but experts say a pound a week is “good, steady progress that can easily be maintained.” So… if I have to do things that way, at least I’m still doing things.

I did more damnable Skyrim grinding today. I need to get my character up to or past Level 78 to spawn a Legendary Dragon. After I kill a Legendary Dragon, I can be done with Skyrim. As it stands, my character is a level 62 with Dawnguard, Solstheim, and Alduin left to beat. I get the distinct impression that beating those 3 Quest Chains won’t get me to 78. Which means as rough as the grind has been to this point; it is going to get rougher.

Afterwards, dishes. Empty Dishwasher, Re-fill Dishwasher. No big deal. Ran the water filter a few times again. Then even though it was getting close to 4… I went to go workout.

My caloric intake pre workout was 480. My cardio workout burned 193 and then I did a full weight circuit. Came home a little before 6 to Wife getting in the shower.

Now… lets see how the night goes? (fingers crossed)

Thanks for reading! I’ve been reading pretty regularly but not noting with the usual frequency but I wanted to say thanks to all who are reading me!


Always Laughing May 07, 2018

Congrats on the steady weight loss.

stargazing May 07, 2018

You might consider measuring your body instead of just relying on the scale. Muscle weighs more, and sometimes losing inches can be the only way you know something is happening. I used to use a phone app to measure my progress.

Comfortably Numb stargazing ⋅ May 08, 2018

^^ This. When I was going to gym regularly, I felt better, my clothes fit better, people commented that they saw I looked slimmer, but my weight hadn't budged. I suppose what fat I'd lost had been replaced with muscle or may re-distributed. Clothes and a tape measure are a better indication.

Congratulations on your weight loss though! I know it's tough.

four leaf clover May 07, 2018

I ALWAYS used to think that way about contacting friends. Always. I'm getting much better. But I still hesitate because I dont want to bother anybody. I've gotten into the habit of trying to think what I might like a friend to do... for example- would I appreciate a random text from a friend? Of course. Why not? Would I appreciate an invite to lunch? Sure!

Good luck with Skyrim. I've deemed the game too time consuming to beat lol. Do a bunch of boring never ending recurring quests. That's what my husband would do, wasting a lot of time to level up and never playing the main storylines. Drove me nuts.

Deleted user May 09, 2018

I know i am always glad to be contacted by friends ; whenever .
Congrats on the weight loss ! Keep going !!

Perpetually Plump May 14, 2018

Confidence! Text your friends when you need them! If they're busy, they'll text when they have time! Foster those relationships! Don't e a statistic or get lost in our digital world. I've been calling my friends lately, just to take it way back. I refuse to spend hours texting, unless I'm at work. Of course they want to hear from me, because we are friends!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.