Tomorrow! :D in Stuff

  • May 6, 2018, 6:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last night I went to the live stage production of the musical ‘Rent’ at the Cremorne Theater here in Brizzy. I didn’t realize QPAC had such a tiny theater in it, but I can now say I’ve been there.
They did a fairly good job of it. Everyone could sing and act, but the acoustics were a bit off. Some songs, I couldn’t even make out a word of what they were singing lol. The music was just way louder than their voices or it just didn’t work. Luckily, I’ve been a fan of ‘Rent’ since the 90’s. I remember as a teen, hearing about it over in the USA and being so upset that I couldn’t figure out how to get my hands on a copy of the DVD or anything, but eventually I managed to! And it was like nothing else I’d seen.
So it was pretty cool to finally see a stage production of it.
There were a group of about 10 or so of us all there. I only knew Julian, the host of it, and a couple of his close friends who I only ever see at events he organizes. Had no idea who the others were but I was polite and said hi to everyone lol.

Worst part was waiting for them outside the theatre. I’d told Julian that I wouldn’t have credit and that he’d have to ring me. I’m being stingy/sensible and not buying credit that I would only be able to use for two days. Didn’t make much sense to me.
But then of course, the open wifi connection wouldn’t connect, and 7pm rolled by and they were nowhere to be seen. I’d told him I’d be waiting outside, which I was, but then they never showed, so I went inside to see if they thought I meant outside the actual theater doors, but no sign of them there either. They had previously all been out at dinner, but I’d been at work all day and decided not to attend, due to a)social anxiety (this play was bad enough!) and b) they’d chosen Vietnamese, and the last few times I’ve had Vietnamese, I’ve been violently ill afterwards lol. It’s like Vietnamese restaurants here get to avoid all the local food laws due to them being, Vietnamese. Uncooked chicken on the menu? Sure, no probs! Geez. So yeah, had it been Thai, I probably would’ve been more likely to go.
Anyway, I eventually looked out the window from inside and saw Julian standing below, so I ran down. He had just picked up his phone to ring me when I waved and his eyes lit up when he saw me.

There were two hot actors in the play, so naturally all of us were perving on them the entire time. The guy who played Angel grew up in Toowoomba! I joked with Julian that he must’ve been lost, as there aren’t any hot guys in Toowoomba :P One of the bar-staff was also very attractive. His looks reminded me a lot of Brenton Thwaits.

Anyway, said goodbye to everyone. I had one day of work left to get through so I headed off home. I hadn’t had a good sleep Friday night so I was fucking exhausted as well.
Work was tough but productive. Apparently they haven’t replaced me. LOLZ. Three months notice and they’re like, ‘Nup.’ My God, I swear that place is gonna burn down without me there, but anyway, not my problem!

I’m now excited/nervous as fuck. This time tomorrow night, I’m off! Wahhhooooo!!!!
I’ve got my suitcase on my bed, prepared for what the hell I’m going to pack. only taking carry-on luggage again due to it being so convenient last time as a backpacker. I don’t know why I’m so nervous, it’s not like I haven’t done this before. Maybe because I’m three years older than I was in 2015? Julian was saying he couldn’t imagine himself staying in a backpackers at his age (he’s 47). I said I was concerned about that as well, but only because some backpackers actually have age limits. I’m 34 now, and I’ve done my best to choose backpackers that don’t have that ageist rule, but I guess I won’t know for sure until I get there. I’m only gonna be using it for sleeping and showering really. I intend to be out exploring as much as I can from early morning to early/late night (depending on my feelings of the sketchiness of certain areas). I’ve got a mental list of what I need to take with me (passport, wallet, powerbanks, adapters, phone, padlock, headphones, earplugs, towel, underwear, socks, EUROVISION TICKETS… that’s all I need right?) I have to be very minimalist. I’ve been researching what the temperatures will be like and Portugal/Spain seems to have a maximum of 19 around this time of year, which means (me being a sunny Queenslander) I’ll probably need a light jacket to be comfortable when I’m out being a tourist. I have to download that google image translate app, as I fly out tomorrow and I haven’t learned a single word of the 5 different languages I’ll be walking in to (YAY, not). Especially if I have to fill out those damn forms asking me questions in Italian.
Fun times!
I have to bring two pens. The worst part from last time was searching for a god-damn pen at the airport to fill in the arrival cards. There are literally none. Normal travelers with half-a-brain know to bring their own pen, but stupid me didn’t know that last time, and was left running back and forth in the customs area in London looking like a complete loser, all because I didn’t have a God-damn pen lol. And flight attendants generally won’t give them out because once they lend a pen to a passenger, they won’t see it again. So yes, pen. Two, in case one doesn’t work. I need to be prepared!
I also went on the Emirates site and chose my seats. I paid extra for the long-ass flight coming home, but I’m going to risk it with the normal ones. I tried to book an aisle seat so that I can get up to use the bathroom without disturbing anyone (worst when someone is sleeping!) but I’m allocated a window seat for tomorrow’s flight. I’m not too worried, as I’ll be able to look out and maybe see something. I just hope I don’t get sucked out of the plane like that poor woman a few weeks ago in the USA. I mean, fucking hell, what a horrible way to go!
Just the thought I need right before take-off. But shit like this can happen. I’m also aware that my plane seems to be flying over Syria, so go-team if I get hit my a missile or some shit as well.
I’m near-sure I entertained these thoughts last time I flew over as well.
Anyway, I’m sure I’ll be bored waiting to board a flight somewhere and I’ll write again, but I’ll be updating from my phone from now on until I get back.

Gym membership has been put on hold, and I’ve notified my banks that I am traveling, so hopefully they don’t cut me off whilst I’m over there. Look at me adulting!

My housemate wants me to go out to Fluffy’s High School Reunion tonight, which i don’t think is a good idea because I’m old now and the last thing I need is a hangover before a 14-hour flight and then an 8 hour flight. I’m considering trying out an outfit and seeing if it works or not. I’d much rather be boring and sleep, or pack, or overthink everything, like I am good at :)


Last updated May 06, 2018


Echo May 06, 2018

Loooove Rent! The scene with the 3 metal tables...omg. instant tears as soon as it starts!!!
I do love the stage play, but am also a fan of both cast recordings (play and movie).
Gonna have to go home and watch it later!!!

Deleted user May 06, 2018

I very stereotypically love Rent! Sorry it wasn't the best production, but I am still pretty jealous.

cazoob May 07, 2018

Have the BEST time xxxxxx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.