Auspicious? in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 2, 2018, 10:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This gorgeous peony is in Kes’s garden and had a beautiful run of blooms last week. Normally I am not a big fan of peonies because they are a bit big and showy but I love this one.

The fact that the dearly beloved cats in my life, Noko, Stella and Sammy are buried here has something to do with that. :)

On Sunday morning when I got up early to have a little snack before my morning walk on the beach I saw that the full moon was setting over the Pacific Ocean. The first thing I saw under the cloudy sky was moonlight on the water and then the clouds parted a bit and the pale silver light of the moon became visible.

It was so beautiful and very romantic.

Then later after a lovely walk (only marred by the unreliable narrator of my thoughts telling me I needed to be sad because we were leaving in a few hours) Most Honorable noticed a rainbow all across the vista that unfolded in front of us there in the house we rent right on the beach.

Very auspicious.

I wonder often as I get a bit older if I am not surrounded by the loving energy of those who I have loved and lost (for now) and I thought that this last weekend quite a bit as we moved through a different part of the world than our everyday space.

I can choose to believe that the part of them that lives on in me shines comforting warmth back towards me because, you know, sometimes the days are long and full of difficulties for us and those we know and love.

Just wanted to check in here as there doesn’t seem to be as much time as there used to and that baffles me. The fact that it is more difficult to type with Diego sprawled across my lap or chest couldn’t have anything to do with it, right?

Naw.


Deleted user May 02, 2018

Wow that’s so beautiful! I went to the most amazing garden on my recent trip! This reminds me I need to upload those photos:)

Lyn May 02, 2018

😸

woman in the moon May 02, 2018

Beautiful peony. I have mixed feelings about them. They are glorious and then they aren't. Will be quite a while before they are blooming here.
Thinking of what you share with your sister and husband - the cat burial ground - the trips to the shore - the peony. It's all beautiful.

Deleted user May 02, 2018

That is utterly beautiful flower. Beautiful entry too .

edna million May 03, 2018

That peony is just breathtaking!! I have one in my "garden" that always gets a couple of flowers then dies. It probably needs to be better taken care of.

I love the unreliable narrator of your thoughts- I have one too and always have trouble recognizing it. Him. Her. Whatever it is. Also totally think you're right about the energy of those who have gone on before we have.

Marg May 05, 2018

That was a lovely image you conjured up with the walk and now I see where your profile name comes from!

noko Marg ⋅ May 05, 2018

Yep. Noko, was a most gorgeous and mild tempered Norwegian Forrest Cat that I lived with for a number of years. She came with that name. I know you are not supposed to have favorites with pets or children but she was an extraordinary cat and much loved. I was losing her around the time I started writing in OD and I wanted to be reminded of her, hence the name.

Marg noko ⋅ May 06, 2018

That's such a lovely idea and a very fitting tribute to a much loved pet! I must admit I try not to have favourites with my cats as well but they all have very different personalities so I suppose it makes sense - just like people :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.