MAY DAY in Postcards 4

  • May 1, 2018, 11:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Mission Bay, Point Loma, and the Pacific from Kate Sessions Park.

Not all countries celebrate May Day any more. When I was a kid we wrapped May Poles with streamers and snuck little bouquets on neighbor’s doorsteps. I don’t think kids know to do that anymore. Military functions and parades took over the innocence. It’s a delightful, naive, and loving vanished bit of culture.

No sun today. From that mountain we could only see fog today. From here we have little culture today, but we have a delightful lily growing next to our garage. Neighbors saved the bulb once. They moved, and I went over and dug it up from their yard. Tho the gardeners have cut it off once, it’s grown back gloriously. It appears to be our gesture to the season.


stargazing May 01, 2018

There is a school near my house that brings out a May pole every year, but growing up, I never knew anything about a May pole or the tradition of bouquets on neighbors doorsteps.

NorthernSeeker May 01, 2018

There are no leaves out on the deciduous trees which kind of defeats the springiness of May Day. I don't think it has ever been celebrated here.

Zipster May 01, 2018

I miss the old May Day traditions. I think that wee bit of kindess could go a long way these days. What a beautiful amaryllis.

gattaca May 01, 2018

We did Maypoles when I was in elementary school. I hadn't thought of that in over 50 years. :-)

Marg gattaca ⋅ May 02, 2018

Me neither - lovely to remember that!

Hillbilly Princess May 01, 2018

Deleted user May 01, 2018

We used to make “ May Baskets” and leave them on the neighbor’s doorsteps . It’s also my birthday so I celebrate :-)
That is an Amaryllis :-) I love them !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.