What to do, what to do in Stuff

  • May 1, 2018, 5:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Tomorrow morning I take my very last pill of my toenail medication. It doesn’t look that different lol. It’s still black haha. Which is weird. I remember last time it was black, I cut the nail basically off and all the black came off with it, which ruled out cancer (which is what I was worried about after the doctor told me it could be grr), but it’s grown back since then, and it’s black again. I read that I still have to wait a few weeks after the end of the prescription, so I’ll do that.
At least now I know this is a stubborn as fuck infection and it looks like I’ll be seeing a podiatrist upon my return to Australia, as I’ve exhausted all my other options. I’ve been applying tea-tea oil every night on top of the oral medication (to try and double-whammy it) but to no avail lol. Grrrr. Good news is that I’ll be off the medication! I don’t think it really had that many side effects. I mean, my liver may be destroyed, but the blood test said it was fine when I started, so if it has damaged it any, it should hopefully be able to mend itself now. That’s if livers heal. Not sure if they do lol.
I don’t know if I’ll drink much in Europe. Maybe just one here and there. I’ve never been a big drinker. But I’ll be on holiday so maybe I will.

Speaking of, since I’m now staying in Europe rather than going to the UK, I booked Milan and Zurich today, so I guess that means I’m heading to Switzerland! So that’s exciting. And OMG guyz, the place I’m staying looks ahhmazing! Like, I’ll be roughing it the entire trip basically (in hostels) but this time round I was like, ‘why not book somewhere a bit nicer?’ Bravo Matt, book the hotel in one of the world’s most expensive cities lol.
But the prices weren’t too bad, and I’m only doing the one night on the Sunday night. I looked at the price for the following night, and it was over double! :O So I figured one night will have to do. Get this though, there’s no access to the hotel except via the train, and then you have to do a 10-minute walk to the hotel, which should be doable with my little suitcase.
It looks like it’d be incredible in Winter, but the view looks amazing as it is. I made sure to book a room with a view to see what I get.
Check out the Winter view!
alt text

I don’t expect my view to be like that, since I’ll be there closer to their Summer, but even the Summer one looks cool. I’ll be sure to take some piccies and hopefully even a video entry if I can, since I’m more likely to do one of those when I’m in a hotel over a hostel lol.
I hope the weather is nice for the one-night I’m there haha. I couldn’t afford more than the one, but I figure it’ll be amazing after having roughed it the previous three weeks.

I’m also excited for the train trip from Milan to Zurich, as that’s meant to be pretty awesome in itself. That one will be a 3.5hr trip, but I figured I’d rather train that leg than fly it and only see clouds.
Will just have to wait and see if it all works out.
I’m exhausted just from planning only two new cities today. I also have to remember to change currencies between Italy and Switzerland but that should be fine.
I’ve now planned up until May 28th, and I have to be back in Lisbon by June 3rd for my flight home, which means I have six more days to plan where to go! I’m thinking I may spend another day in Zurich (but will unfortunately have to go back to roughing it for the second day lol) but where to go from there!

Upon some more research, there’s this awesome bus that travels between Zurich and Prague (another city I really want to go to), but Prague is in the opposite direction to where I need to end up, and upon more research, to get back to Lisbon from there would cost me minimum $250 for a one-stop flight or $480 for a direct (^cough^ LOL).
This is also a 9+ hour bus ride, which would normally kill me, especially being a bus, BUT it’s an overnight bus costing roughly A$95 which would a) get me there and b) save me a night’s accommodation cost. It’s also double-decker. Check it out. http://www.noblessline.cz/language/en/gallery/
At the moment, I am considering this as an option. Otherwise Prague would have to wait until another trip. I could also get a return ticket and save on TWO nights accommodation, but it would mean 18 hours of travel in a bus, and when I’ll be doing that twice on a plane, I think my body would go into cardiac arrest when it realizes when I’m about to put it through. Although I’d imagine I would be asleep for a lot of that time. A plane ride back to Lisbon from Zurich would only be $100 direct. I guess it’s a much more popular route.
Another option could be Vienna, which does direct flights back to Lisbon. If I were to do it from Prague, I’d have to go via Amsterdam it seems.
Anyway I’m gonna post this and have a bit more of a think with what to do with these sudden extra days.


Deleted user May 01, 2018

Oh hey hi, we used to talk on OD like a million years ago (I've been reading my old diary and see your comments)

.... are you the Australian with nice cheekbones?

(Sound like even more of a weirdo if the answer is no...)

KissOfLife! Deleted user ⋅ May 01, 2018

Well I am Australian and I guess I do! Hahaha

Deleted user KissOfLife! ⋅ May 01, 2018

Oh, good! Nice to re-meet you.

Perpetually Plump May 01, 2018

Prague is phenomenal. It is a city that survives. Simply amazing. I would take the time to see it!
Is your infection fungal? If so, maybe try gentian violet. It'll turn you purple, but it's what my mom always used for nail infections. And I've used it on the kid to treat ring worm

Wranglingal May 01, 2018

wow lots of great planning for your trip, I hope you have a great time, that pic you shared wow that is so amazing, I would love to just visit there to some day, but on my list I going to go to Australia and meet my cousins as I have never seen them. Hope that infection really clears up for you real fast!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.